words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

into recollection | form and forever

**********************************************************************************************************************************************

To view in High Definition, select either the 720 or 1080 HD setting in the tool icon.

The memories behind you, impermanence, transcending the mundane, and a long forever.

It has been a while since I posted here on n e w d i g i t a l s c a p e s. And although I have not participated in this creative community as of late, I hope now to find the space that brings me back to sharing my prose, poetry, and art. I am not sure where the time goes anymore. A few years back, in another time of my life, I was very progressive in my blogging and interacting with fellow artists and writers. Sometimes I ask myself where did I find the time for such a committment. But as I pen this post, there are still no concrete answers to that question that I can fully embrace.

I completed this piece entitled “Into Recollection | Form and Forever” late last year. I wanted to create a piece for submission to film festivals in the “experimental art” (short film) category that was rather long in length (30 or 40 minutes are the usual short film limits). My films are often a collection of remixes from previous work, while simultaneously searching how to create and convey an entirely new vision. In this film is the continuation of my major artistic themes i.e. visual abstraction, dreams, memory attachments, ambiguity, and personal experience. It indulges in all these concepts, while supporting creative visualization and newly composed musical ambient themes.

Again, the film is rather long @ just over 29 minutes (and no dialogue), but it does flow quite well through its various segments. Enjoy.

3 responses

  1. Funny, I was just thinking about you, wondering if you’d mysteriously dropped out of my “reader” list, as sometimes happens. Glad to find you’re still here, still creating, still engaging. It is hard to keep up with everything! Your films are always full of the mysterious.

    April 16, 2016 at 9:05 pm

    • Hi Linda. It is great to hear from you. I guess I am still on your reader. How does that work? If you are absent from communicating, does WordPress automatically delete you from other bloggers reader’s account? Anyway thanks for reaching out. I hope you are doing fine. When I jump back into the game, your blog will be first on my list 🙂
      Peace and Light.

      April 18, 2016 at 2:09 am

      • I have no idea what happens with the reader. I blame it on cyber gremlins. Every now and then I wonder why I haven’t seen anything from some great blog friend. I’ll search for them and discover they’ve been hard at it, but somehow their site fell off my reader. It’s weird. I’ve heard other WP users allude to the same hijinx. Dang gremlins. Take care, Walter.

        April 18, 2016 at 2:54 am

Leave a Reply

