words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

your world beginning | catalogs, maps, and memories – final day


***********************************************************************************************************************
After starting the video, please select the 1080 or 720 in the tool setting icon to view in High Definition.

This is the final video in my 2014 series Your World Disappearing and Your World Beginning. It explores past artistic influences and reflects on the creative process as well. In 2015, I will be starting a series titled “Into Abstraction”. I have not completely thought out the direction of this new series. It may in some form be a continuation of the 2014 series or a new direction with an emphasis on the abstraction of imagery and sound. I want to explore and utilize visually, the micro-tonal effects of the new video software I just purchased. And musically, I want to produce a more distinct electronic sound from my own remixing and editing of sound samples. And again, in addition to the new video software, I will be using a new music editing program to produce the music. This process will be a challenge indeed, and a learning curve over time.

4 responses

  1. elmediat

    Beautiful piece Walter. Your spiritual contemplative tone radiates from the whole structure, acoustically, visually and in context-subject relationship.

    I must confess I have been “skulking about” some of your posts looking at approaches. šŸ˜€ I am playing about with some ideas for video pieces using very inexpensive software. I managed to come up with one to go with a post I called, “Snow White ā€“ The Other Side” on the Implied Spaces blog.

    Thanks for the inspiration. My work is far less polished and definitely not as calming šŸ˜€ – still learning how to put it together and the subject matter evolved as I saw what worked.

    March 1, 2015 at 4:35 am

    • Hey Joseph. How are you my friend? Thanks for the support of my video work. I appreciate it. You are certainly welcome to “skulking about” my posts. I love the video exploration. It always creates a challenge. There are so many parameters, options, nuances and variations to discover in the process. I am using new software, the Sony Music Studio Suite. A learning curve indeed. I think one way to approach the video process, is to think of each clip as a still image that can be manipulated. Similar to using Photoshop. And secondly, manipulating the image over time, via the key framing. Both visually and aurally making a video can have beauitful results. Feel free to talk shop. I am always up to it.
      peace.

      March 4, 2015 at 1:57 am

      • elmediat

        Many thanks Walter. Much appreciated. My work is pretty limited based on the non-professional software I have used. Most of the pieces were designed for use with my students and an attempt to learn some basics to assist students. This is the first time I created something purely for self expression as a component of a blog post.

        https://impliedspaces.wordpress.com/2015/02/22/snow-white-the-other-side/

        March 4, 2015 at 3:33 am

  2. Pingback: your world beginning | catalogs, maps, and memories – final day | n e w d i g i t a l s c a p e s

Leave a Reply

