words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

your world beginning | piano and waterfalls – day 8

********************************************************************************************************************

For better viewing, in High Definition, please select the 720 HD setting in the tool icon.

The video “Piano and Waterfalls” continues the series “Your World Beginning”. It is an exploration of organic nostalgia i.e. a reflection of the beautiful times and places gone by. “Piano and Waterfalls” was filmed while hiking the Graveyard Fields trail to the Lower and Upper Falls located in the Balsam Mountain range in Western North Carolina. This film is of the Lower Falls which one arrives first after a short hike through the barren fields (a fire burned a large segment of the mountain range in the early 1900’s). Then the trail continues on with a more difficult hike to the Upper Falls. I shot various short segments along the way, which I will feature in a number of parts.

This video is also the first film I have produced using new software. My computer upgraded (without my consent I must say) to Windows 8.1 leaving me with an incapable AVID Studio. I loved working with AVID. And after nearly two years of using the software, I was really beginning to fine tune my use of it. I tried without success to find and install patches that would enable me to continue to use it with Windows 8.1, but with no positive results. So I just purchased the Sony Movie Studio Suite. And it is a learning curve all over again. My goal is to continue to produce quality videos that mirror the progression of my previous work. With this first attempt, I am discovering that there are some questions to the quality of the final video production as an uploaded internet movie. Formatting is a key. Especially when I am using my own video footage. This is a technical challenge, which I hope to conquer in order to create the most visually pleasing and technically diverse films possible.

4 responses

  1. Moving water is utterly fascinating.

    December 13, 2014 at 9:53 pm

  2. I agree Linda. There is so much abstraction in moving water. Working on more footage of the falls for upcoming videos. Still on the learning curve of this new software.

    December 14, 2014 at 1:13 am

  3. Walt, it must have been a very peace “journey”. I sure wish I could have experienced it.
    ~ Al

    December 15, 2014 at 1:59 pm

    • Hey Al. How have you been? I appreciate you digging the video. I am posting a link here to another “journey” video I want you to check out. It was the last video piece I did with the previous software. And as I stated it was becoming a tool that I was gaining considerable techinical control over. I think you will like the feel and ambience of the piece. Hiking at Waterrock Knob entitled: Maps Mountains and Trails.

      http://wp.me/p1f97v-203

      December 16, 2014 at 5:50 am

Leave a Reply

