words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

experiment: data complex 9 | a world inside (a zen nature remix) | video art in HD

*****************************************************************

“A World Inside (A Zen Nature Remix)” is an audio and visual remix of the video piece I composed a few months back entitled “Zen Nature | Landscapes for Well being”. In this remix I added the spinning globe, which I have been featuring in my two previous videos. The emerging global image represents the continuous complexity of societal and existential relationships: In “Data complex 7”, the focused was on social, civil, and political entities. In “Data Complex 8”, I explored emotional ambiguities, abstract thought, and memory attachments as it pertains to the individual. In this piece, “Data Complex 9”, I draw attention to the Earth itself, as a landscape for well-being and Spiritual connection. In the remix, small distinct sound samples were added to the soundtrack, along with poetic thought to the visual construct. The actual visual and aural part of the video ends around the 5 minute mark, with an additional 1:46 seconds of a black screen and silence. “Into creation, into silence”. A moment for the viewer to explore his or her own meditative recollection.

6 responses

  1. I like the ball and the butterfly. the constant birth and rebirth. You have done what I am envious of. Did you use motion? (Apple program?)

    October 8, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    • Hi Hollis, thanks for stopping by and the nice comments. I appreciate it. There’s is certainly a sense of birth and rebirth in the piece. Natural and Spiritual. I am using Avid Studio for the editing, and Videoblocks for video and audio clips. I also use my own video footage. There are many expressive tools that this combination can bring forth.

      October 8, 2013 at 4:37 pm

      • I did a video with Keynote on the Mac. A very lurchy crude video. My next will be with Motion (if I can figure it out) and I also want to blend in some live-action like you did. It is very tedious. People don’t realize this.

        October 22, 2013 at 3:25 pm

        • Hi Hollis. Yes it is, at time very tedious. I am not very proflic at filming and storyboarding. My strength is in editing for the most part. But I am always searching for an experimental variation of form and structure through thst editing.

          October 24, 2013 at 3:01 am

          • Sounds like your strengths are my weaknesses and vice versa. Your work is wonderful. You should be extremely proud!

            October 24, 2013 at 11:27 am

  2. elmediat

    A very intriguing & mesmerizing media composition. Well done. 🙂

    October 24, 2013 at 2:01 am

Leave a Reply

