words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

variations | into abstraction (a mirrored dream remix)

Seconds after awakening,
a mirrored moment
> my life
here and then

As we move through life, we think of friends and loved ones. Sometimes they visit us in our dreams. And seconds after awakening, we hold onto their presence … Last night I was in my grandmother’s home; Mrs. Aline Pearl Thorne, our beautiful, loving, family matriarch. Even now the dream slips from my consciousness, but the sound of her voice, and my joy in finding and embracing the familiar dinner dish she has prepared still lingers. I thought of a distant cousin, who had one time shared in this experience of family love. Distant we may be, but I can feel that across the continuum that is space and time, we share the same mirrored dream.

3 responses

  1. Lovely!

    October 1, 2013 at 2:41 pm

  2. beautiful post!!

    October 2, 2013 at 11:13 pm

Leave a Reply

