words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

experiment: data complex 7 | a world apart | video art

*******************************************************************

After several weeks of editing, I have completed my most recent video in my “Experiment: Data Complex” series. It is entitled ” A World Apart” and it focuses on the historical, and current separatist constructs that have negatively affected African-Americans and society as a whole. The Data Complex series brings together modern digital technology, and ambient music with various visual artistic styles such as Surrealism, Abstract Expressionism, and Futurism to convey its message. Recently I watched the video of the Jay Z performance art piece entitled “Picasso Baby” at the Pace Gallery in New York City. His merging of Hip Hop culture and High Art culture was impressive. As a digital artist, and an African-American artist, I believe as Jay Z so eloquently said, that (and I paraphrase) it is a time for us to take the technology and expand our vision for the world to see. I hope to always push forward and merge the boundaries of digital art, video art, and contemporary soundscapes as tools to bring together “A World Apart”.

8 responses

  1. interesting 7 minutes, perfect subtitles in the video, compliment!

    August 9, 2013 at 7:40 am

    • Thanks Frizz, I appreciate you stopping by. It has been difficult for me to keep up with everyone’s blog. But I always enjoy your posts.

      August 9, 2013 at 8:40 pm

  2. That my friend is one of the most outstanding things I’ve ever seen. Cannes quality, this needs to be seen by the world.
    Truly,sincerely
    Benjamin

    August 10, 2013 at 1:50 pm

    • Thanks Benjamin for such a resounding compliment 🙂 I really do appreciate it. The quest to express ourselves as you would say, is a life’s journey. Have a great weekend.

      August 10, 2013 at 2:47 pm

      • Thank you sir and you as well.
        Benjamin

        August 10, 2013 at 5:52 pm

  3. Replicant Core

    Love your video art 🙂

    August 16, 2013 at 3:27 pm

    • Thanks RC, I am glad you enjoyed the piece. It is difficult at times to find a audience for posts that are video centered. So I appreciate you stopping by a lot.

      August 16, 2013 at 7:40 pm

  4. Replicant Core

    Your art are great. I’m trying … struggling, to find my why in this world with my kind of art. Wish you a great weekend.
    Regards,
    tg aka Replicant Core

    August 16, 2013 at 7:47 pm

Leave a Reply

