words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

a rewind | sunrise and chakra flowers for meditation

“Sometimes our thoughts and feelings take us places we can no longer go … However, in the waking sunrise of a new day, we can, in our meditation, understand our thoughts anew and find places full of insight, rejuvenation, and tranquility”. ~ Walter Smith

In keeping with the pursuit of tranquility and the essence of Zen that I focused on in my recent video entitled “Experiment: Zen Meditation | Landscapes for Well Being”, here is a rewind of a collage with the same theme from 2009. My next post: “variations | sunrise and chakra flowers for meditation”. As in all my pieces in the variation series, I am using this image as a starting point to reach a new compositional insight.

4 responses

  1. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I’ve shared
    your site in my social networks!

    May 7, 2013 at 8:25 am

  2. Good to find your blog Walter – I like the sense of repose portrayed here. The reflecting figures are perfectly placed here

    May 26, 2013 at 8:23 am

    • Thanks again Chas. This collage is one of my favorites. I was doing a lot of meditation around this time. And some yoga as well šŸ™‚

      May 30, 2013 at 5:51 am

      • I thought the figure was a bit like Van Gogh’s painting the the Angelus – I think he has his cap in his hands. I like that moment when the figure is just still in the landscape.

        May 30, 2013 at 9:05 am

Leave a Reply

