words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

experiment: data complex | video art

***************************

“Experiment: Data Complex” the latest video in my “Experiment” series examines our relationships with science, math, society, art and music within the constructs of a Futuristic theme. How do they manifest in our daily lives and what is the critique of their influence? Again for me, it is an exploration of various elements i.e. abstract art, technology and sound. The visual and audio elements of Data Complex are purposely composed in short intervals of sampled imagery and sound; building upon itself as the video progresses. Similar to the process of my digital art compositions, I like to use elements (bits and pieces, 0’s and 1’s) that I previously created to establish a continuous rhythm of structure. Hence the density of sound and the layering of imagery throughout the piece. And as I have stated before, the audio composition and editing is strongly influenced by music styles such as IDM, Ambient, Trance, Neo-Classical, and Glitch. Everything is always in an experimental and exploratory mode. Hope you enjoy the video. Let me know what you think.

5 responses

  1. Very very cool Walter. I have no idea how you created this amazing work. mesmerizing.

    April 25, 2013 at 11:22 am

    • Thanks Terry for the inspiring, and cool comment. I appreciate it. I am using the editing tools of Avid Studio Pro and video/music clips from Videoblocks. The combination of the two are providing a host of possibilities. There are so many tools inherit to Avid that it somewhat mirrors Photoshop e.g. layering and color control. I highly recommend it. I will stop by your blog and see what you been doing. Peace brother.

      April 27, 2013 at 5:30 am

  2. This was fascinating and I kept imagining it could be played in the background of an internet cafe…I would certainly watch it while enjoying my tea and cookies. Also very interesting for the design of your T.A.R.D.I.S. 🙂

    May 6, 2013 at 1:16 pm

    • An internet cafe, with a police box and my video, sounds cool 🙂 thanks for stopping by. I appreciate it.

      May 6, 2013 at 1:27 pm

      • Yes, that would be perfect! You’re welcome, same to you!

        May 7, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Leave a Reply

