words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

experiment: the world behind you | video art

**********************

“Experiment: The World Behind You” explores the concept of modern technology, our attachments and addictions, and the dark path of obsession. It examines from a surreal and futuristic perspective their connection to self, society, and our sense of ambiguity: Are our attachments a “deep dark place or a beautiful heaven”? It can seem like both when lost in the daily obsession of their complexity.

“Experiment: The World Behind You” continues my experiment series. The video consists of royalty free video clips and my own videography. What I am most excited about is the sound scape design that I produced. I love music and the concept of creating ambient noise and distinctive sounds. I hope to create even more interesting and challenging soundscapes to accompany my video concepts.

4 responses

  1. Before reading your description, I was getting a haunting feeling of what it would be like to enter the mind of a person suffering from Alzheimers. Someone who was once very busy, very brilliant, engaged with the world and creativity and then….eery.

    April 14, 2013 at 12:32 am

    • Linda, I really like your perspective on the video. I certainly can see it as a process of one being creative, yet for a period of time succumbing to a form of suffering. The technology being there as both a source of healing and disillusionment in its healing capacity. Thanks for taking the time to check out the work. I am working on a video as we speak entitled “Data Complex”. Again furthering the scope of abstraction through sound and vision.

      April 14, 2013 at 1:59 am

  2. Hi Walter, Wow, the way you expressed your vision was so hauntingly real. I’ve always found great beauty in the painful ‘Truth’ of life. Its almost a relief in a way, when an artist/person finally acknowledge the hard reality of things…this idea does not make me popular but for me, it is only through having the expectations, attachments and delusionment broken, that it finally reveals our True nature, both aspects (the ungly and beautiful) and then the healing and self loving process can really begin. I found your video to be a very powerful expression of your insight. Thank you. šŸ™‚ -C

    April 24, 2013 at 12:36 pm

    • Hi Cari. Thank you so much for stopping by and taking the time to check out the video. It is a haunting piece. Your thoughts on our attachments and struggles mirror my own. Art has always been a vehicle for me to see things as they really are. And I value the opportunity to share my experiences in the hope that they can provide some enlightenment.

      April 27, 2013 at 5:10 am

Leave a Reply

