words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

New Landscapes: Winter – The Hardness Of The Chill

New Landscapes: Winter - The Hardness Of The Chill

somewhere in my life
in my thoughts
in my past moments with …
i see your words
describe the way i feel
at this very moment …
– lost and abandoned
the hardness of the chill within
weathered by your storm

the screaming inside your memories
like the passion of war against the night
a broken obstacle …
to the building of your dreams
and the cold fears to come
never alone without this lost
and the hardness of the chill within

5 responses

  1. Great poetry and I love the way the duo tone shows the textures.

    October 27, 2012 at 7:47 am

    • Thanks Gilly. I think I overloaded my palette with color in my recent Fall series. Winter has a bleakness to it, hence the monotones. Plus I feel that emotional ambiguity of my life’s existence stirring. So aptly related to the chill of Winter.

      October 27, 2012 at 8:26 am

      • Oh Walter so many Freudian slips, I’m intrigued!

        October 27, 2012 at 8:51 am

  2. Very deep. Great post, Walter!

    October 27, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    • Thanks Nandini. I was inspired in part by the poetry of Hannah over at Metaphors and Smiles.

      October 27, 2012 at 12:51 pm

Leave a Reply

