words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Images For HD Video: Water For Meditation (Sunrise Remix) and On Water

Exploring nature through video …

I enjoy working with video. It has always been a true love of mine. It is however, a very challenging medium. It takes time to learn new programs and to obtain the right equipment. And it is expensive. Exhibiting video art in a gallery usually requires a grant. And grants are difficult to come by these days. In the 1980’s and 1990’s, I was awarded a couple of grants for a video installation and a multimedia collaboration. All in all, through recent years, and mostly because of the expense, I’ve shifted from video art to digital imaging. 2-dimensional work. Photography, prints, and digital art.

However, I do want to invest more time in video making. At the heart of this endeavor is having the right mindset for video. Filming. Set design. Editing. Video making is much different from taking photographs. I must remind myself not to think in terms of large production. But rather find inspiration and subject matter in the in-between spaces. Mood. Ambient nature. Form. Simplicity. Lo-tech – high-tech.

The pieces “Water for Meditation” and “On Water” are two perfect examples of ambient nature. They are not very complicated to film and produce, yet fulfill, in this instance, my desire to create an ambient environment for meditation. Transporting the viewer to a moment of relaxation. “On Water” is micro short (26 seconds) in length, while “Water for Meditation” is nearly six minutes long. I prefer long meditative pieces, however I realize that it takes a considerable amount of investment on part of the viewer to “sit” through the minimal motion of a piece of great length. All in all I hope to produce in the future some rather experimental pieces. Incorporating original imagery and music created by me. Work that at this time is a mystery to me.

Below are 2 links to my YouTube channel and the video pieces; “Water For Meditation” (Sunrise Remix) and “On Water”.

Please enjoy. Any feedback is well appreciated. In the future, I hope to post videos more regularly.

Namaste

http://youtu.be/pyYahhz2svM  –  Water For Mediation (Sunrise Remix)

http://youtu.be/wGXnumdn_Ys  –  On Water

9 responses

  1. Water for Meditation is very special…soothing and calming the mind, but with an unusual sense of alertness too… good combination…thanks

    June 29, 2012 at 10:02 pm

    • Thanks Kathy. You are exactly right. There is a quiet feeling and a sense of urgency, or finding the center in a bustling world. Perhaps it is the music and shimmering movement that creates this feeling.

      June 29, 2012 at 11:16 pm

  2. Namaste Walter,They are wonderful. I am sharing it with my friends on Facebook. hope it is ok with you.

    June 30, 2012 at 8:10 am

    • Be my guess Sonali. I appreciate it. Thanks. Sharing is what it is all about.

      June 30, 2012 at 10:57 am

    • And Sonali please check out the previous post. Entitled Tybee Island. A video piece as well.

      June 30, 2012 at 11:01 am

  3. wow, just watching the water gives me a sense of calm. The music just just right too. Beautiful.

    July 1, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    • Thank you Cheryl. Your spiritual sensibility, I would like to feel would find the serenity in the piece.

      July 1, 2012 at 5:40 pm

      • someday I really want to do a video (youtube) meditation using your amazing art, I look at your work many times and always seem to find something new. Its seems to speak to the different moods one can be in, at the time they are looking at it. Do you know what I mean? Does that make sense LOL.

        July 1, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    • Hi Cheryl. I am pleased that you take the time to view my work in depth. It is interesting, what you have said. I too repeatedly view my work over time. It captures and relives moments from the past when it was created. It also reestablishes the emotional context of the experience. And yet, it also creates a experience that is of the present moment, when viewed in the here and now. Art has a way of transcending time. Providing something new each time it is experienced.

      July 2, 2012 at 4:29 pm

Leave a Reply

