words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Weekly Movie-Making Moments In Film: HBO’s Girls and the Video by Robyn – Dancing On My Own

A moment to enjoy a little TV, finding creativity in the work of others….

So I am watching the third episode of HBO’s really cool new hit show “Girls”. During the ending credits, the song showcased is “Dancing On My Own” by Robyn. Okay, I don’t know if I am in the know or not (too much ambient electronic music) but I had never heard of Robyn prior to this song. Where’s my MTV when I really need it? But I digress, this song was way too cool. And when I watched the video, I was totally caught up in the strong, dynamic visual moves of her dancing and the editing with the live club dance scenes. And have you ever considered how interesting it is, when watching a rather good show or movie, the song or songs, during the ending credits can make all the difference? It keeps the mood going–bringing back the emotional pulse of the film. Last year, I was very much into HBO’s “Making It In America” and there was an episode that featured a group of the show’s characters biking after a roof-top party. Through the streets of New York City they trekked—at night. Now that is the way you live in the city. Which reminds me … I miss Philadelphia, the painting parties with artists and the late midnight runs with my boyz Trash (10 miles in 1hr 45 mins, in our twenties). But again I digress. At the end of the show the producers came up with another hip song to keep the flow. The song was “Midnight City” by M83. Pulsating, hip, cool. And yes this band I had heard of before (“Too Late from the CD Saturdays = Youth).

Music can make any art form feel prolific and elevate its content and mood….

I really like the programming on HBO. Everyone I am sure is familiar with their big hit “Game of Thrones” but I really do suggest you give “Girls” a look. And although “Making It In America” is not currently available on HBO demand, you certainly can get a hold of it.

Enjoy the video clips….

Girls – Trailer

http://tv.yahoo.com/girls/show/47563/videos/28822433

Robyn ‘s – Dancing On My Own

http://youtu.be/CcNo07Xp8aQ

M83’s – Midnight City Live on Carson Daly

http://youtu.be/q3w9mfk7D9c

4 responses

  1. Digress away…

    May 3, 2012 at 2:27 am

    • Thanks Jessica. Hope you get to see the show.

      May 4, 2012 at 2:20 am

      • I don’t have HBO, or a tv. But maybe I can check it out sometime on netflix, I’ll just be behind the times as usual. oh well.

        May 4, 2012 at 7:08 pm

  2. 🙂 You are never behind the times Jessica. You are right where you need to be.

    May 4, 2012 at 11:14 pm

Leave a Reply

