words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Reblogged from Maggie Madly Writing: If Nobody Read Your Blog

Great post Maggie. I have always appreciated your posts. They are full of inspiring and positive insight. I am in my second year of blogging. And I began for the purpose of having an outlet for my visual art and to promote it. But what has occurred is that I have found myself producing more art and on a regular basis. This process of blogging has given me a vehicle for daily creativity and peer response. In its own way it is a much greater vehicle for reaching out than the occasional art exhibit. But it does lack the human contact that an art opening provides. But then who travels from the UK or India to see one of my exhibits 🙂 Lately I have seeing my stats go up. Putting some pressure on trying to maintain that rise. But I am slowly letting that go. I have other interests … far from the computer. Like biking. So I realize, I can only do so much, and to the rest be content to share what I can. This is a thoughtful post you have given us here Maggie. I hope you do not mind if I re-blog it on my blog for others to ponder as well.

Maggie Madly Writing

…would you still blog anyway?

That’s a question I’ve pondered, and for me, the answer to that question is yes. I would still blog, even if I was the only person who read it. When I started this blog, I never expected for it to get followers and people who regularly comment. I initially started it for myself, but apparently others wanted to read my ramblings about writing and whatever else.

So if everybody stopped reading my blog, I’d still keep writing entries. If my follower count gradually dropped to zero, if comments got fewer and farther between, and if my pageviews dwindled to nothing, I’d still write. The content would change, I think. I’d probably end up writing more rants and raves about my personal life than anything else. Sure, I’d still write about writing, but when given the opportunity, I can be quite self-centered (and that is something…

View original post 91 more words

18 responses

  1. I think in many cases you are correct. If I’m honest though, because my aim is to try and inspire people with my posts if nobody read them I’d think about another avenue of communication. I’m sure part of my ego is guiding that thought. 🙂

    April 11, 2012 at 4:16 pm

    • One of the rewards of blogging is inspiring others. It is the cycle of creativity that enriches and enlightens us all. You have to love what you are doing, because it comes from the soul, the heart.

      April 11, 2012 at 5:09 pm

  2. I dont know Walter i mean if I just wrote for myself i would write it in my microsoft word or kept my blog private, but the fact that i kept it open for every one is cos i do want others to read it.so i would not stop writing but would make it private or write somewhere else if no one read it..plus blogging is sharing and if i didnt have anyone to share my thoughts with then whats the point.
    Having said that loved what you wrote.

    April 11, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    • Hi Soma. I can feel your passion in your posts. It has always my desire to express myself. Mostly as a reflection of my life experience and for a cathartic release from some painful moments in my life. I love to blog for this reason. The blog is the perfect vehicle for communication, the conveying of ideas, and interacting with others. This I believe is the true value of blogging. And it is fun 🙂

      April 11, 2012 at 8:46 pm

  3. The dichotomy of my painfully reserved actual self and an open to the public blog has been strange for me, as well as the few people whom read it that actually know me (although it was a friend that suggested I do so). I think I use it to work myself through a way being that has negatively impacted my life. I am psychologically isolated and this has been good practice for me. My life is slowly changing. As I am not the “inspiring” type of blogger (maybe someday) I am always surprised when people “like” it or comment. The other thing that I really enjoy is reading other people’s blogs, so I’m glad you all do it too.

    April 11, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    • First and foremost Jessica you are inspiring. I enjoy reading your blog and the openness you convey in it. We are all coming to blogging with our own unique life experience. That in itself has a large influence on how you or I would approach our work. What we express. I believe you will find that blogging is liberating. Freedom to say what is important … to you.

      April 11, 2012 at 11:29 pm

  4. I went for 4 months before people found my blogs….many, many days and weeks with zeros….many days with only spam comments, which I develop an affection for. My friend Jampa kept reassuring me that it was the intention to share ideas that counts, not whether anyone ever finds them…that would be the bonus, but the positive intention of sharing was what he considered important. And so, I learned to not concern myself with who or whether people read…just to rest in my own positive intention to share what I make, in case it might be helpful to others. But…it is a wonderful , deeply appreciated bonus to have developed kind, supportive and encouraging communities around each blog…and to have people gain value from what I make…btw…similar to Jessica, previous comment, I also was “painfully reserved”….shy….and so each post took huge courage to post and, hence, show my ideas to others. Now it’s getting easier, thank goodness.

    April 11, 2012 at 10:21 pm

    • This is the beauy of blogging. Reading what you have shared. Feeling your emotional connection to what you believe. That which makes you who you are. And it is okay to express it. Both you and Jessica and many others including myself are very courageous to share our lives in such a open and public venue as blogging. It provides the vehicle to discover ourselves. With each post we come to know ourselves a little deeper. And our readers come to know us a little more as well.

      April 11, 2012 at 11:08 pm

  5. Yes, in my case it seems all of a piece. People I have known for years never knew me until I suddenly dug my heels in last year. I just couldn’t go another day locked inside myself. Where as I thought I was thoughtfully not burdening anyone with my own feelings I suddenly understood that it was in fact churlish to keep myself away from those that love me, that it could be considerate to give a little more of myself, people are interested and, I find, often are so much kinder than I am to myself.

    April 12, 2012 at 12:12 am

  6. I started blogging for my grandson. He’s 3 now but I thought I want him to be able to read about my world when he’s older (will the archives still exist?) and then I realized I was really writing for me. And as I wrote, I connected, made friends, offered support and realized how much I enjoy being a blogger. It takes time and cultivation like stamp collecting or painting and the end result is quite exciting!

    Thanks for the great post!

    April 12, 2012 at 2:36 pm

    • Hi Marge. Blogging is a wonderful experience. Together we create, we share and we all learn something from one another. It does take time to cultivate the workings of blogging. To feel confident in what we have to say. But the reward is in doing. Thanks for stopping by.

      April 13, 2012 at 1:39 am

      • Yes, the reward is in the doing and it also makes me more aware. I think — I can talk about that in my blog or I want to take a picture of that for my blog. I’m more author oriented now and truly enjoy the process!

        April 13, 2012 at 2:47 am

  7. VEry interesting. To be honest, I do believe I would still post if no one was reading, but I think the tone and content of my posts would be different. I often think about this, how my audience influences my writing. I wonder if an audience makes me a better writer or perhaps just a friendlier one. Thank you for posting this! It made me think.

    April 13, 2012 at 12:56 am

    • You have made a very good point Anna. In questioning does the audience make us friendlier? If I am to be honest, I sometimes taper what I say to perrhap facilate a good blogging relationship. But it is vital that we support one another in a positive way. The goodwill of the community is important. And it seems it is better to be positive than negative. Although you can grow from both. So perhaps what is vitally important to grow as a blogger is feeback. POSITIVE and negative.

      April 13, 2012 at 1:27 am

  8. i posted for the first three months for myself…it was freeing…
    i think in a way i still do. i will do posts for myself to have a memory recorded.

    great point Walter…i enjoy your musings

    April 13, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    • Barbara I agree. A large part of our motivation is doing it for ourselves…to have a recorded history. To remember things past through our own creation.

      April 15, 2012 at 12:19 am

  9. Ina

    Hi Watler
    it is an interesting question. If I can speak of the poetry blog alone, I love the interaction between bloggers, the things we learn from each other. If no one would read my blog, I would not blog. 🙂

    April 15, 2012 at 7:04 am

Leave a Reply

