words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

No Moment In Time We Can Ever Bring Back (A Really Gone Remix)

As our past fades away, is there a bridge or ferry that can take us where we want to go….

A flight of fancy a bridge and ferry

Trying to escape something that is little known….

Earlier today, I was reading a post that Conceptual Art re-blogged entitled “A Place Where My Thoughts Are Frozen Together” by the blogger Emily @ Making Bridges. I enjoyed the read and found much in which to reflect on. It was as I perceived it, a beautiful, personal, and in-depth look at the ambiguities of our life experience i.e. how we connect with ourselves, and how those experiences resonate and are influenced by the emotions that accompany them. As I read, this line really struck a chord with me… “I often find myself looking back on past experiences – painful and happy – wishing I could still feel the intensity of those emotions”.

I believe that all my life, I have been struggling with this as well. I keep seeing my memories. Feeling them. Finding them elusive yet obtrusive. Art as a solution, sometimes produces some release and some peace, as it transforms the related emotion into form, color, shape, and content. Each piece touching on the memories in a hope to find a cathartic release. But it seems that it all remains the same in the end. An internal struggle. An endless pursuit. Perhaps the process does bring me a small step closer to a sense of freedom or understanding. But to truly cross that bridge, or ferry across the depths of my mind, I can only wake each day, start anew, create another piece, with the hope of living a little closer to a more profound present moment.

In a moment we realize we can never go back….

18 responses

  1. NIce one Walter!!
    Have a nice day,
    xandi

    March 31, 2012 at 8:40 am

  2. beautifully interpreted…

    March 31, 2012 at 9:09 am

  3. Reblogged this on Conceptual Art.

    March 31, 2012 at 9:10 am

  4. Beautiful!

    March 31, 2012 at 10:10 am

    • Thank you for the kind comment. I will stop by your blog and see what you are up to.
      Walter

      March 31, 2012 at 11:45 pm

  5. Beautiful! πŸ™‚

    March 31, 2012 at 10:33 am

  6. Laurie Kolp

    So true and beautifully expressed. We try to recreate the past sometimes so much we don’t enjoy the present.

    March 31, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    • Thanks Laurie. I am constantly reminding myself to live in the present moment. As difficult it may at times be.

      March 31, 2012 at 11:48 pm

  7. Hi Walter,

    A moving a poignant piece. I often find that as my memories replay I revise how I thought about that moment in time. Perhaps this happens often enough so that we end up removed from the original emotion? Thank you for linking to my blog, I must point out though that I am not Mark Manders, his beautiful artwork brought me to write about what it means to me.

    March 31, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    • Sorry about the mix up Emily. Please accept my apology. I will make the change on my post.

      March 31, 2012 at 10:09 pm

  8. oh i love bridges…and i love ferries…great pic…been riding the staten island ferry in nyc…what a treat…smiles

    April 1, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    • Claudia, thanks. I know you loved NYC. What a great city. My best experience there was my 1997 exhibit with 3 other artists at the Agora Gallery in Soho. A Thursday evening opening. Driving from Philadelphia, my biggest fear was … its rush hour and where am I going to park πŸ™‚

      April 3, 2012 at 4:49 am

  9. elmediat

    Beautifully expressed in both words & images. When I first looked at the piece it suggested to me the old paddle boats of the 1800’s. It was as if a memory of that past era was passing under the bridge from one time to another. Stay well Walter.

    April 2, 2012 at 2:13 am

    • Thank you very much elemdiat. I used a soft focus effect to try and give it that expressive time element. Of time lost. And subdued colors to create timelessness.

      April 3, 2012 at 4:53 am

Leave a Reply

