words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Lake Rock Sky (An Electric Ladyland Remix)

Sometimes an image reflects things that exist only in the mind….

A moment with lake, rock, and sky in retrospect ... An Electric Ladyland Remix

What do you do with a memory that occurs suddenly while creating a piece? Or after the piece has been produced? I really did not have any definitive path for this piece. I just wanted to explore form, color and process utilizing photographic images from a lake, a sky and a mountain. Process is important to me and sometimes an abstract work can reveal a lot about process. It then occurred to me after its completion that it had both an organic and electrical feel to it. And the image that came to mind, while deepening my contemplative view of the work was Jimi Hendrix. Yes—Jimi Hendrix. Why Jimi, now that is a good question? You really do not see any real connection to Jimi at all in the piece. Or so it seems. Perhaps if you are thinking like I am—in that moment; or after having similar life experiences, you would see Jimi as well. But it is ok if you don’t. It’s your art as well as mine. I am just the physical creator of it. To you, it is what it says and reflects from your life experience.  But I digress. Getting back to Jimi and how he relates to this piece, is in itself abstract. In 1970 while visiting my older cousin and sifting through his record collection, I came across two beautiful album covers and titles. Both were mysterious and beautiful. They were Band of Gypsies and Electric Ladyland. This was my introduction to his music and rock music in general. I was 13 years old. I never looked back. The two albums and the music recorded on the discs would have significant influence on my future art. An introduction to psychedelic colors, experimental structures and abstract forms.

So I saw Jimi, in this piece, and it began with a lake, a sky and a mountain. And I called it “Lake Sky Mountain (An Electric Ladyland Remix)”

I can hear Jimi say … groovy….

15 responses

  1. groovy it is, I love it!

    March 13, 2012 at 6:26 am

    • Thanks Gilly, I love the smooth sounds of Jimi as well.

      March 14, 2012 at 12:30 am

  2. I really like this piece Walter, great title too.

    March 13, 2012 at 11:11 am

    • Thanks Jessica. Have you listened to any of Jimi’s music?

      March 14, 2012 at 12:32 am

      • Oh yes. My 17 year old son recently started playing him as well, he loves Gypsy Eyes (he seems to take over the music in the car, but we have similar taste so it works out well).

        March 14, 2012 at 1:19 pm

  3. Yes, definitely Hendricks!

    March 14, 2012 at 12:18 am

    • Hi HeleneN thanks for stopping. I guess we are a little old school …digging on some Hendrix 🙂

      March 14, 2012 at 12:33 am

  4. I absolutely love this image. It reminds me of mandalas and fractals. B E A U T I F U L!!!! 🙂

    March 14, 2012 at 1:02 am

    • I am so glad you enjoyed the piece. Thanks a lot 🙂

      March 17, 2012 at 5:36 am

  5. have you ever considered working with textiles?

    March 15, 2012 at 6:43 pm

  6. Hi Barbara. You know I have never worked in textiles. I know some of my work would probably work well with the medium.

    March 17, 2012 at 5:37 am

  7. Great piece, great process!

    March 21, 2012 at 5:09 pm

  8. beautiful inspiring art, glad to have discovered your blog 🙂

    March 22, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    • Thanks Yelena, and I too am glad that you have found my blog. I hope that it will be an inspiration to you and your writing.

      March 22, 2012 at 6:01 pm

Leave a Reply

