words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

A Tribute To The Family (A Full Of Grace And Love Remix)

The love of family is vibrant and colorful … enriching the very essence of our union with life….

A family reunion celebrating my Aunt Mary's 81st birthday

The centerpiece of love is the family….

I have been thinking lately about the legacy of my family. Both on my mother’s side and my father’s. The lost of a child (my daughter) can bring these thoughts and memories to bear. This evening I found myself asking, how can I celebrate the love of family?

– Our Family.

How can I bring together the many cousins, children and grandchildren that are all a part of the love we have as one large family? We are the Thorne Family. My Grandmother Aline Pearl Thorne gave birth to my mother, her three sisters and her brother. Now over several generations there are children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren.

My aunt Wilhelmina was a painter and my “uncle Bubba” as well. They both were inspirational in my pursuit to be an artist. In honor of them as well as the family as a whole, I am beginning a new series that will celebrate the many facets of our family; a celebratory life, a life full of giving and receiving in the bond of love. It is my hope that members of my family will collect some of the work created for this series and pass them down throughout the generations creating a legacy of remembrance.

Together we can do all things….

Peace and Love to Family and Friends alike.

14 responses

  1. Nandini

    Family is important for me too. A beautiful bonding. A blessing for us. Great post. πŸ™‚

    March 3, 2012 at 9:39 am

    • Thanks Nandini. Family is important, I totally agree.

      March 4, 2012 at 7:00 pm

  2. Sonel

    Beautiful photo and post! πŸ™‚

    March 3, 2012 at 11:37 am

    • Thank you Sonel, I wanted to creative a strong expressive work in the tradition and likeness of much of what you can find in African American art.

      March 4, 2012 at 7:02 pm

  3. After my recent family event I too have been thinking a lot about the role of family in our life. So many times we take family love for granted and so many times we spend way too much time mourning the lack of family love. The only thing we an do is grab on tight to the ones we love family and friends and make sure they know we love them. Time as you know is precious and we need to mindful in our practice every day including our family.

    Love the series

    March 3, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    • So true Mary Ellen. So very true. Bless you and your family
      Namaste

      March 4, 2012 at 7:03 pm

  4. really cool shot man, enjoy what you did with the pic…hae not had a family reunion in a very long time…not beyond initial family….we need to have one….

    thanks for letting us write to your pictures today at dverse…has bee cool to see wha tthe poets have come up with far…

    March 3, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    • Family reunions are beautiful. And so important. In this day and time, we need to remember how to get together and celebrate.

      March 4, 2012 at 7:04 pm

  5. Yes!

    March 4, 2012 at 1:58 am

  6. Family is so important they are the pearls that flll the thread of our life and make it a beautiful neckpiece add in friends and we have a beautiful sparkling twinkling jewellery ..a priceless one

    March 5, 2012 at 5:57 am

    • Thank you Soma. Our families are at the center of who we are, and our connection to the world.

      March 9, 2012 at 1:35 am

  7. Rich, rich colors. πŸ˜‰

    March 6, 2012 at 6:27 pm

Leave a Reply

