words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

A Love That Resonates Forever – A Tribute To My Daughter

Throughout the years my daughter Lady and my sister Patricia, have been at the very core of my being. The very essence of my Joy….

Patricia and Lady

I spent February 25th in quiet reflection; thinking of my lovely daughter “Lady” and remembering the things we shared. A few days earlier, I had sent a text to my sister Patricia, telling her I how much I loved her. Reminding her of my appreciation for all that she had done for my daughter over the years. On February 25th 2012, my daughter would have been 34 years old. Young and vibrant. Intelligent and strong. Beautiful and adventurous. A mother of four. A friend to many. A gift from God to me. As I approach March 7th, the day of her passing from this physical realm, I will continue to lift her up in my heart. Embrace her dreams as my own. And thank God for the blessing she is to me.

Lady taking photographs at family reunion 2006

Dionanna Mcfadden my “Lady Pooh”

44 responses

  1. Your daughter IS your blessing, she will always be with you just like you are with her.

    March 3, 2012 at 12:03 am

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. And you are so correct she “IS” my blessing. Had to update that 🙂
      Namaste my friend.

      March 3, 2012 at 5:36 am

  2. sandy

    This is so lovely.

    March 3, 2012 at 12:09 am

  3. A beautiful tribute to your daughter. Since 2004, I have lost almost one person close to me each year. I thank God that last year was uneventful but, in the prior year I lost two – my goddaughter (mother of a 4 yr. old) at the age of 32 and my godmother at 88. Not a day goes by that I don’t think of these people – all with fond memories. May the memories of your beautiful daughter bring you joy as you celebrate what she gave you. Peace!

    March 3, 2012 at 12:45 am

    • Thanks Helene. Our loved ones remain in hearts for sure. It is difficult at times. But the painful moments are always overshadowed by a beautiful light of love for all the moments we shared with them. Bless you as you move forward in remembrance.

      March 3, 2012 at 5:40 am

  4. I feel so sad – yet, your strength and positive spirit inspires me. I am not sure how you lost her, but my thoughts and prayers go out to you for your continued peace.

    March 3, 2012 at 2:08 am

    • Thank you Shelia. My daughter passed away suddenly. No apparent illness. The most difficult moment of disbelief is when I got the phone call. A moment that remains with me. But I love her enough to be strong, to be grateful for our time together, and to know she is with me still.

      March 3, 2012 at 5:43 am

  5. what a beautiful homage to your lovely daughter…
    B.

    March 3, 2012 at 3:39 am

    • Thanks Barbara, your kind words are so appreciated…

      March 3, 2012 at 5:44 am

  6. Oh Walter such a beautiful tribute, you are such a positive warm soul, may god bless you with warmth and sunshine.
    http://couples.com/mb/attachment.php?attachmentid=10339&stc=1&d=1301842397

    March 3, 2012 at 5:06 am

    • Soma, your words, reaching out in such an uplifting way, is a blessing of warmth and sunshine. Thanks you for your support.

      March 3, 2012 at 5:46 am

  7. Nandini

    This is full of love and warmth. Love never ends, nor does the togetherness. It will always be there. This is beautiful, Walter. 🙂

    March 3, 2012 at 9:32 am

    • Thank you Nandini. I want my family to have prints or canvas prints to keep the legacy alive throughout the generations. I appreciate you stopping by. Did you see my previous post? A tribute to my daughter? Check it out.

      March 3, 2012 at 9:37 am

      • Nandini

        This one is that post, isn’t it?

        March 3, 2012 at 9:38 am

  8. Walter, what richness and love you have in your family….and what a beautiful daughter….may you continue to lift her up in your heart, embrace her dreams as your own and to thank God for the blessing she is to you…..what a beautiful inspiration she continues to be in your life…kathy

    March 3, 2012 at 9:50 am

    • Thanks Kathy. Your words are soothing and uplifting.

      March 6, 2012 at 1:24 am

  9. Yamyah

    what a beautiful post, my friend. Know that she is always with you, as a blessing, as a daughter and as a guide. Love and blessings ~

    March 3, 2012 at 2:12 pm

  10. This is a touching post…I can’t imagine losing my child ~

    But she is with you still, and she shines in your pictures and words ~

    March 3, 2012 at 11:58 pm

  11. elmediat

    A touching post Walter. Thanks for sharing. As a father of a special needs daughter, I always have a hidden worry and anxiety. As parents, there are certain places you don’t want to travel. You have had to travel there and I am glad that you have found the strength in memory , love & art to sustain your spirit. May your spirit always be strong & may you always be able to lead my example.

    March 4, 2012 at 3:06 am

    • Thank you Elmediat. My daughter will always be my source of inspiration. My vessel in which to know love. I can also appreciate your journey with your daughter. I work with individuals with special needs. It is a very rewarding occupation. And I find so much joy in knowing I am enriching their lives.

      March 4, 2012 at 3:39 am

  12. beautiful sad and everything about being human that rips through and says we can still be good inside, blessings walter

    March 4, 2012 at 3:07 am

    • So beautifully, and so well said yoga-adan. Thank you.

      March 4, 2012 at 3:35 am

  13. Something unimaginable. A lovely tribute to a lovely woman. Using this medium as a way to heal and show your love. Touching post.

    March 4, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    • Thanks Jennifer. It is unimaginable. And at times deeply painful. But the light of love we shared brightens the darkest day.

      March 4, 2012 at 4:24 pm

  14. What a beautiful tribute to your daughter. And to know that she does live on in you is a wonderful gift. I’m so sorry she was gone way too soon. Beautiful post.

    March 4, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    • It is so kind of you to express such lovely thoughts about my daughter, Katie. I appreciate it.

      March 4, 2012 at 4:20 pm

      • You’re so welcome, Walter. I lost my sister when she was just 31, so I know in ways how you feel. All my best, especially as the day approaches.

        March 4, 2012 at 4:25 pm

  15. Thank you for sharing your daughter with us, Walter. I am so sorry you lost her that young. My thoughts are with you.

    March 4, 2012 at 9:19 pm

  16. Walter, When I saw your daughter’s picture my first thought was, :Oh, she and I share the same curly hair style and hair color.” She was beautiful! My sis lost her 18 year old son 6 years ago, and a child’s passing does change how we connect to life. For me it has become much more sacred. Sis is an artist and when she paints she feels her son’s presence, and it’s understandable as the creative state allows for a receptiveness of what is non physical and beautiful. Beautiful tribute to a beautiful young woman! May her spirit continue to shine. Namaste~

    March 5, 2012 at 3:12 am

    • Marie your words speak to my heart. I appreciate the support. Sometimes I do feel my daughter presence when creating. When writing about various aspects of love. She and I were alike in a lot of ways. She loved music. And she was a dreamer too. Glad the two of you shared such lovely physical attributes 🙂

      March 6, 2012 at 1:43 am

      • Walter, When I first saw the photo of your beautiful daughter I didn’t realize she had passed away. It pulled at my heart strings when I realized it was tribute to her memory. Maybe she was an advanced soul and didn’t need to stick around for very long.

        BTW, I mentioned you in my latest blog entry. 🙂
        Namaste~

        March 6, 2012 at 2:50 am

  17. TY for sharing your daughter with us….and for lifting her up in the spirit realm. She was a bright and beautiful light and my heart goes out to you again… Blessings to you Walter. {{{Hugs}}}

    March 6, 2012 at 6:08 pm

    • Elizabeth, you have been sharing such wonderful posts ever since I met you. Your words are always so sincere and uplifting. And I appreciate you for all your support. 🙂

      March 8, 2012 at 2:02 pm

  18. What a beautiful being a human she was and what a beautiful being a spirit she is. You seem to be both and I am so touched by this post.

    March 8, 2012 at 10:49 am

    • Thank you Lydia. Your words are thoughtful. I appreciate the sentiment.
      Peace and Light to You…..

      March 8, 2012 at 1:59 pm

  19. Walter, I send a hug and tears filled with gratitude. Thank you for your gifts to the world and much love to you and your beautiful daughter, whose light forever shines brightly.

    March 8, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    • Thank you Brenda, I really appreciate your comments. Hope you are doing well.

      March 8, 2012 at 4:41 pm

  20. thanks to photography – a little bridge to your memories, a soothing way back to the times, when your daughter was by your side; and this post will become a good bridge too … maybe she can read this: she would smile, for sure!

    March 8, 2012 at 5:28 pm

    • Thank you Frizz. The love of family is so important. We have to cherish the days we have with them. My daughter, I believe is a bridge to all my joy and happiness. And every time I think of her she goes deeper inside my heart.

      Peace

      March 8, 2012 at 5:41 pm

  21. I am sure there is nothing more devastating than to lose your child. It is true that no one can take her from the safe cocoon of your heart, but I can only imagine how much your arms would love to hold her tight. Your tribute to her is lovely.

    March 25, 2012 at 8:55 pm

Leave a Reply

