words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

The Silence Series: Chakra Colors For Meditation – Muladhara (Red)

Our Mind, Body and Spirit is of one Source …  All That Is….

Over the next week, I will be working on a series that will be revolving around the beautiful spiritual essence of the various chakras. And how through a meditation practice we can access their vital energy for harmony and healing. I am going to post each chakra individually, as I build towards a concluding series of all seven chakras. As I progress I will be making different visual versions of each chakra. In the end, I will choose seven that I believe have the greatest continuity as a whole for a meditation practice.

Each chakra represents a core dimension of human life.

First up is the Muladhara (Sanskirt) chakra. It’s color is Red and its sound is Lam. This chakra is associated with basic survival skills. It affects the skeleton, lymph, and elimination elements of the body. The sensory component associated with it is the sense of smell. It is in this chakra center that we are released from uncertainity.

When beginning a meditation practice, it is good to be in a relaxed position. Make sure you are comfortable and have your eyes closed. Quiet your breathing by focusing your attention on your in-breath and out-breath. Then bring your awareness to the first chakra at the base of the spine. Bring your attention to this energy center and visualize the color of deep red and begin to repeat the mantra Lam … Lam … Lam.

Namaste

19 responses

  1. Looking forward to the chakra posts! Lovely job so far!

    February 16, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    • Thanks for the compliment. I do hope your will feel a connection with the series as it progresses.

      February 17, 2012 at 12:21 am

  2. sandy

    So am I. I don’t know a lot about this.

    February 16, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    • Thanks Sandy for checking out the piece. I was a little rushed when writing the text. I am going to update it with more relevant information on how to meditate while focusing on the chakras. I hope to continue to be informative as the series progresses.

      February 17, 2012 at 12:27 am

  3. ok then…I need to contemplate on my first chakra…thank you.

    February 16, 2012 at 11:48 pm

    • Hey Barbara, did the word trust stand out? The 1st chakra is the source of our feeling grounded. Our rock.

      February 17, 2012 at 12:30 am

      • yes, the word trust stands out…

        February 17, 2012 at 12:47 am

  4. Walter this is brilliant..the image you have posted has such calming effect beautiful 🙂

    February 17, 2012 at 4:39 am

    • Thanks Soma, I am certainly inspired by the work that you do. It is good to know that we all are on the same journey of self discovery, and enriching the lives of other through out art and prose.

      February 17, 2012 at 11:01 pm

  5. I find this interesting as I have started learning about Mr. Iyengar and also Sound Immersion..

    February 17, 2012 at 4:57 am

    • Thank you Jennifer. I am not familiar with Mr. Iyengar. I need to look him up. Tell me about your experience with Sound Immersion. I am curious.

      February 17, 2012 at 10:59 pm

  6. Yamyah

    this is a wonderful idea, Walter! I love how you integrate spirituality and consciousness into your beautiful art, it’s most powerful :). When i focus on my root chakra or when i find it out of balance, i will speak “I AM”. Much love ~ Yamyah

    February 17, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    • Thanks Yamyah, your words are uplifting. I hope the series will be successful. I need to spend more time in quiet meditation and focusing on my life energy. It’s interesting however, how the creative process in making art is meditative also.

      February 17, 2012 at 6:38 pm

  7. Looking forward to learning about Chakras here.

    Thank you for the information and the beautiful post.

    February 19, 2012 at 6:51 pm

    • I am pretty much a novice of the study of chakras. I am just trying to pass on some information that may enable my readers to find peace, healing and happiness.

      February 20, 2012 at 9:29 pm

  8. Thank you, Walter, these are lovely!

    February 20, 2012 at 6:14 pm

    • You are so welcome Leslee. I hope you have a blessed and centered day.

      February 20, 2012 at 9:23 pm

  9. You’ve done a terrific job on the series… 😉

    February 24, 2012 at 3:30 am

Leave a Reply

