words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Winter Fog On the Blue Ridge Parkway

On a cool, brisk Sunday afternoon the fog rose along the ridges of the Blue Ridge Mountains….

In 2012 I hope to explore in-depth various elements of video, video art, and video abstraction. There is a lot to process in the machinations of creativity, productivity and presentation. And it will certainly take a moment or two to master linking all the various social media outlets to accommodate the various video formats.

Some of the elements I will be working with are natural atmospheric landscapes, seascapes, and cityscapes. “Winter Fog On the Blue Ridge Parkway” was filmed while ascending from Asheville, NC to the higher elevations along the Blue Ridge Parkway. The mountains here are quite beautiful, even when shrouded in mist. Hope you enjoy the piece.

http://youtu.be/41mpSmc6-d8

18 responses

  1. I really enjoyed your winter fog video! [is the repetition intentional?]

    January 26, 2012 at 11:45 am

    • Thanks Marina for the cool comment. Yes the repetiton is intentional. I usual look for patterns, repeating cycles etc to convey in my work. Constant movement through color or form.

      January 26, 2012 at 12:26 pm

  2. Have driven the foggy route more times than can be counted. Clever idea!

    January 26, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    • That is so cool PC. Glad you liked the video. Are you from the Asheville area? Those mountains are beautiful in any weathe4 condition. I love to bike in them.

      January 26, 2012 at 6:10 pm

  3. Thanks for inviting me to view the video. It was really nice, and I particularly like the ending with the raindrops on the window. Lovely.

    January 26, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    • I am glad you stopped by and enjoyed the video. I appreciate it Cecelia.

      January 26, 2012 at 6:07 pm

  4. I see you used your Droid for this. Quite amazing. I haven’t even explored the video feature of my Droid. So, if you don’t mind, I have questions!
    Were you the driver or the passenger?
    What program or app did you use for edits?
    How did you aquire the music?

    I have tried to use YouTube to show photo slideshows on WP. I’ve had limited success with it. And I’m always reluctant to add music because of copyright issues. I’m interested in learning more about these processes.

    January 26, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    • Hi Linda and thank you for taking an interest in my video piece and the process behind it. Actually, I did not use the Droid phone for the filming, but a HD video camera. I used a simple editing program which included a video template with music to complete the work. I have three video programs, Vaio Movie Story (which I used here), Pinnicale Studio (more capabilities) and a proconsumer program AVID Studio. I just purchased the AVID Studio and will be using it in the future. One of the features about it I like is the green screen and unlimited multi-tracks.
      My Internet Explorer is having a runtime error program when I try to upload videos (this just started sigh) and so I had to email and download to my phone to upload back to Youtube and Facebook. I think I may be able to solve this problem by installing the FireFox browser and use it to upload videos directly to Youtube.
      Most programs come with some music and sound effects you can use to dub your videos with. And Youtube has a feature where you can dub music to your videos as well. And last but not least there are many royalty free music sites where you can purchase music. I ran into a copyright issue with Youtube when uploading a Itunes song with my video. So do not do this. 🙂
      Hope this helped a little. Feel free to email me if you want to talk more on this issue.

      January 27, 2012 at 6:12 am

      • Great information! I used to be married to a professional videographer and I remember him talking about Pinnacle and AVID when they first hit the market. The technology has come so far. That uploading through the phone is interesting. That must be why the video had the Droid tag. Who’d a thunk you could pull off a work around like that?

        January 29, 2012 at 1:39 am

  5. elmediat

    An intriguing piece Walter. Hypnotic quality to images and audio track. Was that music composed by you ?

    January 27, 2012 at 4:57 am

    • Thanks elmediat. I hope to produce quite a few videos this year. I just purchased the AVID Studio suite, and will be exploring its features. I am by no means a musician. I tried to play the trumpet years ago (when I was in love with Miles Davis) but soon discovered I did not have the ear (although I could read and play music). No real instinct here for me to progress as a muscian. But as you know I love music and will be using some music programs to perhaps create soundscapes to include with my videos in the future.
      Thanks for the cool comment on the piece, I really appreciate it.

      January 27, 2012 at 6:16 am

  6. I enjoyed the video, Walter (although it did give me a bit of quasi mothion sickness 😉 )

    January 29, 2012 at 7:06 am

    • motion – not mothion

      January 29, 2012 at 7:06 am

    • Thanks Shelia, I am glad you liked the video. Sorry about the quasi-motion sickness (:

      January 29, 2012 at 10:30 am

  7. Great video. The music went on well with the video. Wow, that is some thick fog!

    January 29, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    • Thank you Leah, I appreciate you taking the time to check out my blog and commenting.
      Peace and Light
      Walter

      January 29, 2012 at 7:29 pm

  8. Cool concept.

    February 19, 2012 at 10:27 pm

    • Glad you found this video to your liking. I appreciate your comment a lot.

      February 20, 2012 at 9:24 pm

Leave a Reply

