words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Lake Greenwood and Shore

Another beautiful afternoon at the lake, on a brisk cool day….

Our day at the lake was very memorable

“I remember a hundred lovely lakes, and recall the fragrant breath of pine and fir and cedar and poplar trees. The trail has strung upon it, as upon a thread of silk, opalescent dawns and saffron sunsets.” – Hamlin Garland

“Let yourself be open and life will be easier. A spoon of salt in a glass of water makes the water undrinkable. A spoon of salt in a lake is almost unnoticed.” – The Buddha

19 responses

  1. Beautiful. It’s almost as if the trees are about to blossom. A “green breeze” blows from the left making everything flourish…

    January 17, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    • Marina, I am always excited to read your comments. Thanks for taking the time in examining my work. The tree were bare, and it was a fall day. I wanted to spread the color and lines throughout the entire piece.

      January 17, 2012 at 8:41 pm

  2. fantastic shot, like it!! Nice!
    peace
    xandi

    January 17, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    • Thanks xandi and peace and light to you as well. I appreciate your support.

      January 17, 2012 at 8:38 pm

  3. love this

    January 17, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    • Thanks weisser, I am enjoying my recent exploration of impressionistic landscapes.

      January 17, 2012 at 8:36 pm

  4. adalamar

    This is beautiful! Looking at it it just takes me off to a different place. I love it!

    January 18, 2012 at 5:06 am

    • Thank you Ada, I am glad you enjoyed the piece. Landscapes are an important part in my exploration of textures, light and form. I usual try to find some form of abstraction (well hidden) in the piece to emphasis.

      January 20, 2012 at 6:31 pm

  5. elmediat

    Wonderful composition and very intriguing effect & style.

    January 18, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    • Thanks E. I have been using a colored pencil effect as an underlying layer to give the image a more line drawn effect. I like to use this when there are trees and branches.

      January 18, 2012 at 10:13 pm

  6. Wow, really love this one. Those textures and the lines the branches make are just terrific. 🙂

    January 19, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    • Thank you Katie. Landscapes especially treescapes are perfect for creating textures and lines.

      January 19, 2012 at 6:03 pm

  7. Nandini

    Wonderful textures provided by the trees. Lovely. And great quote. 🙂

    January 20, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    • Thanks Nandini, I am glad you enjoyed the piece. I am working on various textures and layers, but trying to maintain a painter’s landscape feel.

      January 20, 2012 at 6:22 pm

  8. Sorayah (Yamyah)

    Impressive, i love the shades and the alignment/perspective of the trees

    January 20, 2012 at 8:36 pm

    • Thank you Sorayah, I have been working with textures and landscapes on my most recent posts. It is relaxing and inventive to create scenes of transitional beauty. Glad you enjoyed the piece.

      January 20, 2012 at 8:45 pm

  9. Love the image and words…

    January 21, 2012 at 11:53 am

  10. This is gorgeous! 🙂

    February 1, 2012 at 5:57 am

    • These recent landscapes have some various effect elements that I have not used before. Specifically an underlying layer of colored pencil to give it a line detailed feel. I am glad you found it to be “gorgeous” piece.

      February 1, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Leave a Reply

