words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

The Silence In Urban Meditation

The silence series….

Towards the inner silence of the city – urban meditation

Urban Meditation 01

Urban Meditation 02

Meditation is not a way of making your mind quiet. It is a way of entering into the quiet that is already there – buried under the 50,000 thoughts the average person thinks every day. – Deepak Chopra

In the city the choices that become attachments lead us into the noise of our thoughts….

Urban Meditation 03t

Urban Meditation 04

My meditation is without hesitation, and the marks left behind are indications of a state of oneness with my environment, my people and the universe. – Ian Factor

Somewhere in the city; in its alleys, playgrounds, parks and abandoned buildings, we find the place to know ourselves….

Urban Meditation 05

Urban Meditation 06

At the museum a troubled woman destroys a sand painting meticulously created over days by Tibetan monks. The monks are not disturbed. The work is a meditation. They simply begin again. – Susan Griffin

In the city we find the process of renewal; we simply find the quiet place….

Urban Meditation 07

Urban Meditation 08

Is there a meditation that is not the ego trying to become? Is meditation conscious if every effort implies time? – Jiddu Krishnamurti

The city offers its timeless darkness and beautiful heaven; our meditation frees us from both….

Urban Meditation 09

To meditate is to observe yourself, for you are totally responsible for your body, mind, thought. – Jiddu Krishnamurti

The city has always been a place where I could lose myself. And at times I have….

31 responses

  1. Nandini

    🙂 Very nice photos. Truly meditative. And those quotes in between are beautiful. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    January 4, 2012 at 11:18 am

    • Thanks Nandini. I have updated the piece with some of my original quotes reflecting on experience of the city. Stop bac and check it again. I stayed up so late last night working on this piece. I was drained.

      January 5, 2012 at 12:43 am

  2. The colors are beautiful in these images and the soothing feeling.

    January 4, 2012 at 1:29 pm

    • Thanks Jennifer. I updated the piece with some of my own quotes. Stop back. I am glad your enjoyed this part of the series. Check out my entire “Silence Series” tag.

      January 5, 2012 at 12:46 am

  3. The photos are perfect for this post and quieting yourself in a city and meditating isn’t easy, but these are perfect.

    January 4, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    • Thanks Katie. My experience, both good and bad in the city plays a strong part in my art and writing. I find that the “quiet place” is soothing antidote to city life.

      January 5, 2012 at 12:49 am

  4. Beautiful way to meditate! I really like the change of colour in the process. As you go deeper into silence, your colours become more vibrant and warm… Beautiful!

    January 5, 2012 at 8:39 am

    • Thank you Marina. Your observations are so intuitive. There is a warmth as you go deeper into your meditation. Check out my other meditative work at “The Silence Series” tag.

      January 5, 2012 at 4:28 pm

  5. Excellent images here, Walter. Particularly liked 1;2;6;7;8 and 9. Good theme.

    January 5, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    • I am happy you appreciate the work. It means a lot. Thanks for stopping by.

      January 5, 2012 at 4:30 pm

  6. I like the atmosphere in these pieces, and the quotes you’ve chosen to go with them. I find cities meditative also.

    January 5, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    • Hi Lisa. I enjoyed creating this series, as well as all of my “Silence Series”. The series allows me to flow through images creating several themes that beckons inner examination. Atmosphere and color while introducing a queit sensibility.

      January 6, 2012 at 6:22 am

  7. Reblogged this on Conceptual Art.

    January 6, 2012 at 10:36 pm

  8. I like the colour, the interesting images call the viewer to explore more, which I did. Regarding city life, its totally beyond my comprehension, so there is a lot of stuff here I’m missing out on. Thanks for sharing your work with us.

    January 7, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    • I am glad you enjoyed the post. You mentioned not having much of a city life? Where are you from, and where is the nearest city 🙂 Check out my “City Series” tag to explore more points of views of city life.

      January 8, 2012 at 3:53 pm

      • I’m 40 miles SW of Dublin, Ireland.

        January 10, 2012 at 10:02 am

        • What a beautiful city Dublin is (pictures I’ve seen) 🙂 And the city has so much history (dare I say U2 and Sinead O Connor). Did I get that right? I know it has not all been good. But it is has character. Wish I could some day visit Ireland. The countryside of Ireland is renowned for its beauty. I can see where your inspiration for your paintings come from.

          January 10, 2012 at 4:01 pm

  9. this mediation is unbelievable fantastic!!!
    peace
    xandi

    January 13, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    • Thanks Xandi. I appreciate the comment. Check out my other posts on my “Silence Series”.

      January 13, 2012 at 3:31 pm

  10. Inspirational writing. My soul is enlightened by your kind words and warm heart.

    January 14, 2012 at 3:17 pm

  11. “They simply begin again.” Just as you most likely do with your exquisite art. Many thanks.

    January 18, 2012 at 3:31 am

    • Thanks for the warm comment. It is important to “simply begin again” and again, to find that new way of going deeper within ourselves. Once again thank you for your support and…
      Namaste
      Walter

      January 20, 2012 at 6:34 pm

  12. Powerful images…fluidity comes to my mind….dynamic too

    January 24, 2012 at 5:59 am

    • Thanks for the comment Barbara. The piece does flow. I am glad you like it.

      January 28, 2012 at 8:02 pm

  13. Walter, just beautiful stuff. I like the “No mind” state you’re in…..Take Care friend, Deb

    January 28, 2012 at 7:53 pm

    • Thanks Deb, I appreciate the thought. Have a great day as well
      Namaste
      Walter

      January 28, 2012 at 9:59 pm

  14. they are beautiful I have shared them with my friends on Facebook xx

    December 7, 2012 at 5:25 am

  15. Heya. Sorry to trouble you but I ran across your weblog and noticed you are using the
    exact same template as me. The only problem is on my website, I’m struggling to get the page layout looking like yours. Would you mind emailing me at: bobbieashworth@yahoo.com so I can get this figured out. By the way I have bookmarked your web site: https://walterwsmith.wordpress.com/2012/01/04/the-silence-in-urban-meditation/ and will certainly be visiting frequently. Thanks!

    March 10, 2013 at 11:51 am

  16. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did
    you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz answer back as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thanks a lot

    June 2, 2013 at 6:42 am

Leave a Reply

