words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Looking Forward to 2012 – An Artist Shares His Thoughts

Looking forward to a year of art, writing, and contemplative journeys in 2012….

Riding the path to a creative tomorrow

Somewhere in the waking, I will paint with more than one color, write with more than one word, express more than one idea….

This will be my last post of 2011. It is Friday morning, December 30th. I am sitting in front of my computer while listening to Fluid Radio on ITunes. As I begin typing, Fluid Radio is playing a track entitled Shooting Blankets from the band called Two People in a Room. It is a quiet morning. The ambience is meditative. The cats are hanging about; grooming themselves, eating and listening to the sounds. I am preparing lunch; whole grain pasta, and tomato basil sauce with scallops and meatballs. I wanted to go to the gym this morning and do some spinning or weight training, however when the urge to write beckons, expression and creativity governs the day.

I have been thinking for some time now what I wanted to work on and accomplish for the New Year. This past year I feel I have been quite successful. I spoke more in depth about my past achievements in my recent post It Has Been a Year of Blogging – Some Thoughts I Wish to Share. Now it is time to look forward.

The very first thing on my agenda is the opening of my online store n e w d i g i t a l s c a p e s for selling my art. I have completed the design of the site (Imagekind is my site provider) and I am now in the process of uploading, editing and organizing my art galleries. I am very excited. An online store, I believe, is well suited for my digital art, and should provide a high quality venue for the purchasing of my art. Prints in various sizes, high-end photographic paper, canvas, and assortment of frames are all available. Links to the site will be available on my website and on my blog in January.

I am also looking forward to returning to my love of video art. I just got a HD video camera, and will be upgrading to a semi-professional editing system. I hope to investigate a distinct realm of processing which I call “video as chance”. It is a form of video expression that allows for time, space and subject matter to dictate what come into the lens of the camera. In the meantime, I will continue to create 2-dimensional photographic work. As I hope to continue to find new ways to structure my work in a beautiful yet provocative form.

I will continue to blog as often as I can. In the past year, I have come to appreciate blogging as a great tool for finding a consistency that sustains the creative process. The heavy schedule of creating new art, and marketing my online store may mean less posting. But I always let the mood of the moment carry the day, so we will see.

Another important part of my exploratory nature is my connection with the mind and body through challenging physical adventures. Top of the list is finding new mountains to climb on my mountain bike; long road trips on my road bike; rocking climbing and hopefully sky diving. That last one will take a little courage.

I hope to finish out the year with the publishing of an art book that centers on my blogging experience. Art for Posts is the title.

All in all I am looking forward to expressing ideas and concepts, and continuing the communication I have come to appreciate with so many talented writers, photographers, musicians, and artists.

2012 is a year for us. Let’s do it together.

Art rules.

Ideas conquer….

13 responses

  1. I can not wait to hear about the video editing. What is the program? KIT even though your schedule may get rough. I hope to be busy also, but look forward to creative chat with you. Happy New Year.

    December 31, 2011 at 1:39 am

    • Thanks Jennifer. It will be an exciting year as we explore and define ideas. The video software I hope to get will be either Avid or Vegas. I am now using the Pinnacle studio. Check out my video art on my Youtube channel. The link is at the top on the menu bar.

      December 31, 2011 at 5:54 am

      • Just checked it out. Cool! I’ve worked with Avid, oh that was fun! Have a Happy New Year!

        December 31, 2011 at 8:01 pm

  2. good luck for your flowing painting ideas 2012!

    December 31, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    • Thanks Frizz. It has been a while since I worked with video so it will be a new turning curve.

      December 31, 2011 at 8:25 pm

  3. Good luck with the video. It sounds fascinating!

    All my best to you in 2012!

    December 31, 2011 at 5:43 pm

  4. Ina

    I wish you a very creative and happy 2012!

    January 5, 2012 at 2:03 pm

    • Thanks Ina. I am a little late with this comment, but your thought was not forgotten. I am looking forward to your poetry in the new year.

      January 17, 2012 at 9:52 pm

  5. Love this post, the glimpse into your life, and the thoughts for 2012. I’m with everyone else — I’m looking forward to the video work!

    January 5, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    • Thanks Lisa. I am looking forward to following your journey in 2012 as well. The video work will be forth-coming.

      January 6, 2012 at 6:23 am

  6. You’ve done a wonderful job in 2011 and I wish you great things in 2012. 🙂

    January 9, 2012 at 2:56 am

    • Thank you Liz. Your support has been invaluable indeed.
      Love ya.
      W.

      January 17, 2012 at 9:53 pm

Leave a Reply

