words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Weekly Photo Challenge: Between 02

Between two trees of a different kind….

Where nature and industry collide

Nature and Science….

When thinking about this photo challenge I was drawn to a question, what is the in-between space that can sustain our planet? Where does it exist, and can it be found? And what is the cost of our ignorance; of not knowing how to balance that in-between space with the complexity of our lives on planet Earth? Is the knowledge we seek, in our meditation practice, in the great institutions we build, or in our hopes and dreams? Can it be discovered in our mind’s eye, in the things we believe, or in the progress of science?

In this piece I thought about nature and technology, and how these two sources of energy interact within our lives and with the planet.  How these two vital forces; the organic intelligence of nature and the welded composite structure of modern progress collide. Trees are torn down and in their place the monuments of steel rise to the heavens.  Our ozone dies, we reach the stars; our rivers run black, the cities grow tall.

Nature dies.

The question is where is the balance that sustains?

I wish I knew the answers to these vital questions. Perhaps you and I, your country and mine, can one day without personal or national agenda sit down at the table and discover the answers.

For the sake our planet, it is the only in-between thing we must do….

14 responses

  1. I love the way you’ve edited this photo!

    December 27, 2011 at 9:38 am

    • Thanks Gilly. And definitely thank you for stopping by and commenting. I hope you will subscribe and check out more of my work. I will head over to your blog and see what you are up to.
      Walter

      December 28, 2011 at 7:06 am

  2. Nandini

    Well said, Walter. Great thoughts. Most of the times, these thoughts wander my mind too. But the answers never do. But still, most of the times, it’s the individual efforts which matter in the end. I don’t know. I really liked your image. Deep and thoughtful. 🙂

    It seems like we were thinking similar lately. Have a look – http://nandinidhiman.wordpress.com/2011/12/26/thats-our-home/

    🙂

    Good day!

    December 27, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    • Hi Nandini. It took a while to write on this particular subject. It was late and I was tired. I thought I wanted to keep it simple i.e. just say a few words. But the prose felt so incomplete. Hence I was driven into the night to find the right words to define my thoughts. You are correct. individuals will make the difference.
      I am going to check out your link, and give you my thoughts.

      Peace

      December 28, 2011 at 7:04 am

  3. very true, Walter. great commentary and I enjoy the colors in the photo as well as its cellophane effect.

    December 27, 2011 at 11:13 pm

    • Thanks Sheila. This challenge on the theme of “between” has given me much to think about. There are many subjective and objective paths one can write or visualize with this in mind. Glad you stopped by.

      December 28, 2011 at 6:58 am

  4. Gorgeous… This is one of my favorites of your collection to date. 🙂

    December 28, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    • Thanks Liz you don’t know how much that sentiment means to me. You are a blessing. 🙂

      December 29, 2011 at 12:50 am

  5. elmediat

    Excellent work Walter.

    December 30, 2011 at 2:18 am

    • Thanks e. I was checking out you surrealism Thursday and about to comment. Nice portraits there.

      December 30, 2011 at 2:45 am

  6. This is very nice. Very gentle and soothing, maybe at the same time energizing.

    January 4, 2012 at 1:47 am

    • Thanks B. It is a soothing piece. As I remember discovering this location at Lake Greenwood in SC. It was a beautiful day.

      January 4, 2012 at 2:17 am

  7. This is so beautiful and i dont know it was intentional or not but the image looks like plastic took over nature…or nature wrapped in plastic…its brilliant

    January 7, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    • Thanks Soma. You are the second viewer who has seen the effect to have a cellophane or plastic feel to it. Indeed it was intentional. I utilized one of my favorite effects called colored edges with some layering process. Glad you enjoyed the post.

      January 7, 2012 at 7:05 pm

Leave a Reply

