words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Where the Entanglement of Our Thoughts and Emotions Reside

The city series….

The ambiguity of a certain step

life and stolen moments….

where things are taken away

and given back with bated breath

while we intrepidly

hesitatingly

transcend the mundane

where things are like yesterday

and in every breath

life is given hope

like tomorrow’s dream….

the American dream

in the illusion of timelessness

where things are the same

on either side

of the entangled thought

and attached emotion

where the city sleeps

at the crossing of life and liberation

14 responses

  1. Awesome…

    November 29, 2011 at 11:55 am

    • Thanks povsuduvolosy for stopping by. Hope you are enjoying my work as I do yours.

      November 30, 2011 at 10:33 pm

  2. Nandini

    Thoughtful. Great picture. 🙂

    November 29, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    • Thanks Nandini your participation in my creativie process is welcomed.

      November 30, 2011 at 10:34 pm

  3. I love the luminosity

    November 29, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    • Mary Ellen, you are very much appreciated, thanks for the comments.

      November 30, 2011 at 10:35 pm

  4. Badpanda22

    Great textures! 🙂

    November 29, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    • Thanks Badpanda, for stopping by. Keep coming back 🙂

      November 30, 2011 at 10:39 pm

  5. I like your work in visualizing emotions. I can relate to your images as they represent closely to what I often feel like inside my head 🙂 I was just thinking of doing something on this today before I even stopped by here which is weird. My thoughts would look like a ceiling fan on the highest speed – lol

    December 4, 2011 at 5:13 am

    • Thanks for stopping by Sheila, and I hope you will do so often. Your thoughts are well appreciated and composed with great insight. I was able to visualize your comment “my thoughts would look like a ceiling fan on the highest speed”, and yes it does seem that way at almost any time. 🙂

      December 4, 2011 at 5:55 am

  6. Wow, Walter. Wonderful words and the image just throws my mind and thoughts into a state of confusion and so many things running around in it. Perfect! 🙂

    December 6, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    • Thanks Katie, for the wonderful comment. I was definitely looking to give the image a sense of ambiguity about our thought process.

      December 7, 2011 at 5:41 am

  7. Your art has continued to grow and shine.. I love the reflective nature of your work and the accompanying poems and musings give them even more depth. TY! 🙂

    December 19, 2011 at 2:51 am

    • Thanks Elizabeth, I am trying to address all the emotional aspects of my thoughts. In the new year I will be including more video work. I am investing in a high-end camera and a video editing suite. Oh, by the way I will be launching my online store for my art in January 2012.

      December 20, 2011 at 2:59 pm

Leave a Reply

