words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Weekly Photo Challenge: Opportunity 02

I took this photo during a 1993 lecture and art exhibit of my latest work at Atlantic Community College in Mays Landing, NJ. The lecture was a demonstration of various digital processing elements for the creation of digital art and video art. It was a great opportunity to talk with the students and introduce them to digital art. In 1993 digital art was just beginning to grow as a valid artist medium to many, and I was happy to share my knowledge, take questions, and inspire these would-be artists.

In the photo a Commodore Amiga 1000 computer, Super Gen video mixer, and a Panasonic camera for scanning photographs. Yes, times have changed, and now artists have access to more sophisticated hardware and software.

Artist lecture at Atlantic Community College 1993

8 responses

  1. Great!
    Love this old design of hardware=) And CRT monitors as well=)

    October 23, 2011 at 7:21 pm

  2. Yes I agree, those were the times. I really liked my Amiga computer.

    October 24, 2011 at 5:18 am

    • Well, it’s maybe not the same thing but I hear there is still Amiga systems available. Amiga Netbook planned in the middle of 2012….
      BTW I slill using CRT monitor. I guess it’s much better than plasma or ELT….

      October 24, 2011 at 10:36 am

      • I made the mistake of getting rid of my Amiga 1000 computer although it was still working. My monitor died and I did not want to spend the money to fix it. I was no longer using the Amiga to create art, and all those files on floopy disks were useless. I kinda regret not keeping the system whether or not I used it.

        October 24, 2011 at 3:18 pm

  3. To bad… Well, maybe there is some person with still working system so you’ll be able to restore your files….

    October 24, 2011 at 6:01 pm

  4. …and there is external floppy disk drives, and whole bunch of soft like Amiga system clones, forks, virtual machines e t. c…
    Well it’s your business and well sorry if I’m a nuisance but I thing you must not let all your works gone.

    October 24, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    • Actually, I still have all the art on floppy disks and they are still in my possession. I was able tor transfer most of the work to use, and sometimes I post the early work. Perhaps that could be an upcoming post–work from the Amiga files. It was quite incredible the possibilities that machine provided. Everyone talks about the Apple computers back then (and I had one) but the Amiga really launched the marriage of art / music / videomedia and computers.

      October 25, 2011 at 1:20 pm

      • Great! ^_^ Do you planning to mark your older works somehow?

        October 25, 2011 at 5:22 pm

Leave a Reply

