words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Weekly Photo Challenge: Entrance 03

A great entrance needs its own work of art….

The Louvre in Paris, France as remixed in the form of a digital pen.

The Louvre is a magnificent museum. I visited the museum in 1990 and just fell in love with its collection of art. But the entrance, the trait-d union between the new rooms and the surface, is a glass, transparent pyramid, of a very light construction, flanked by another two smaller pyramids which, like the larger one, reflect the changeable light of the Parisian sky.

The author of this bold project was the American architect of Chinese origin Ieoh Ming Pei, who also created the new wing of the National Gallery in Washington DC.

The entrance to the Louvre in Paris, France

4 responses

  1. I like how this came out… Very creative processing. I need to get back to Paris to shoot this again.

    August 14, 2011 at 10:18 am

    • Thank you Adam, I appreciate the comment. Check out my other work on my art blog and let me know what you think.

      Walter

      August 14, 2011 at 10:49 am

  2. I like what you did to the photo. it adds another dimension to the site. 🙂

    August 18, 2011 at 5:16 am

    • My experience visiting the Louvre, and yes seeing the Mona Lisa will remain with me always. That experience needed a special work of art in remembrance.

      August 20, 2011 at 8:53 pm

Leave a Reply

