words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

30-Day Song Challenge: Day 15

30-Day Song Challenge: Day 15 asks the question what is “a song that best describes you”?

http://youtu.be/Fh0AaTOfkIc      Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto – Moon

A bonus song that reinforces the theme as well…

http://youtu.be/OJORJFSWE1I     Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto – Berlin

I have been listening for some time to the musical duo of Alva Noto and Ryuichi
Sakamoto. This collaboration has produced many ingenious works. Here are two entitled
“Moon” and “Berlin”. I think these songs best describes me because of their contrast
between the beautiful, seductive, melodies produced by pianist Sakamoto and the
pulsating beats and glitch from sound designer Noto. The sounds they produce seem at odds with
each other, however they are not. They are distinctly different but combined in such a way that it is
pure pleasure. I would like to think that this contrast is symbolic of how I
create art i.e. I am always searching for various source materials to bring together in a compelling work of art.

12 responses

  1. More wonderful music to enjoy… TY! and I hope your Father’s Day is blessed and bright. 🙂

    June 18, 2011 at 11:51 am

    • Hi Elizabeth, I am glad to share my love for music with you and others. I also want to share my dear friend’s blog with you. Please check it out and give a warm hello to Jody:
      http://www.amastewomanblog.wordpress.com

      Yes she is here with us 🙂

      June 18, 2011 at 2:30 pm

      • Hey Bunny, it is easy, I think, to like Alva Noto and Ryuchi Sakatomo. All in all it is a taste that is not for many, but I am glad you appreciate the music. Check out, what I think is their best collaborative effort, the CD Insen. The two songs from this challenge are from that CD.

        June 23, 2011 at 5:41 am

  2. what a beautiful and interesting piece…not only does it reflect your creative process/style…but it reflects the facets of your complex personality…you are energized and an amazing thinker, but also peaceful and able to be still (not many people can embody both so easily)

    Happy Birthday tomorrow! I celebrate that you are on this planet!

    June 18, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    • Jody, I have to truly thank you for your reflections on my work and my character. I really do appreciate the kind words. You are going to do great things here on WordPress as your message of healing for women moves forward.

      Peace and Light

      June 18, 2011 at 2:25 pm

  3. I listened to both songs and enjoyed the serenity I got from them. Thanks for sharing!

    June 18, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    • Thanks for stopping by Maggie. I hope you will subscribe to my blog and in the future share with one another our creative spirit and thoughts.

      Have a great weekend
      Walter

      June 18, 2011 at 2:23 pm

  4. I agree! These are wonderful! I find it fascinating how you help your readers learn more about art and you. I like your style. It’s unique and fresh. 🙂
    Happy Father’s Day!

    June 18, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    • Thanks SoapBird, I appreciate your thoughts. I think we all have a lot to share about ourselves, our aspirations and what we love about others. Here, in our daily posts we have the opportunity to do just that. Keep up the good work. I love your writing as well.

      June 18, 2011 at 2:21 pm

  5. They are very different. The first felt so sad and lovely….the second so anxiety provoking, as if on the edge of something sinister. I liked the first piece a lot, so much, I may purchase it.
    Thanks Walter and enjoy your Birthday!

    June 19, 2011 at 10:14 pm

  6. I’ve been dying to ask this since you started your Music Challenge…. How do you stumble upon these great independent artists on your list?

    June 20, 2011 at 4:28 am

    • Thanks Diva, for stopping by and continuing to check out the music I select. I always love sharing the music. I have been listening to Electronic music since the 1970’s. The key is to always buy something new. And now thanks to Itunes and Genuis you can easly link to other artists. I am presently searching out music in the IDM (Intelligent Dance Music) genre. When searching for music I look for ambient sound design, sampling, field recordings, and minmalism as a starting point.

      Namaste

      June 23, 2011 at 5:36 am

Leave a Reply

