words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Impressions in Barbados 02 / Celebration

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Impressionism is a theory or style
of painting, literature or music which aims to reflect subjective impressions
rather than objective reality.

The Crop-Over Festival is a yearly
event celebrating the sugar crop production in Barbados. It is a week-long party
all over the island. Everywhere you go people are in the streets, restaurants,
and on the beaches drinking, eating and partying. It was fascinating watching the
many parades that snaked throughout the streets.

And everywhere the town was alive with music.
Even the beaches could not escape the sound of bands playing reggae, rock, and Caribbean
music on stages lining the shore. One such moment was quite magical as the
sloping foothills crowded with people edged its way down just yards from the
ocean.

I had a great time, and I recommend if you get the chance and love to party to go visit Barbados.

I took over two hundred photographs to document the festivities. In this post I include some of my favorites.

What do you think? Do you have a favorite party locale where you can let yourself go? Please share your thoughts.

8 responses

  1. I was wondering where the photo you put on my wall was shot. I did not imagine it was in Barbados. Very nice work on the image “Downtown and the Setting Sun.” I would like to check out this Crop-Over Festival one day. I settle for going to Barbados though, festival or no festival.

    June 13, 2011 at 2:49 am

  2. Beautiful selection of photos… I love the range in texture and colors… TY! 🙂

    June 13, 2011 at 10:57 am

    • Thanks Elizabeth

      I am enjoying this series indeed.

      I am going to send you a link to a friend who just started a blog here on WordPress about women’s health. I think you are going to really enjoy getting to know her. Her name is Jody.
      Will get it to you ASAP.

      Namaste
      Walter

      June 14, 2011 at 4:38 pm

  3. Interesting choice in processing. I like the colors in the Downtown Setting Sun shot.

    June 13, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    • “Downtown and the Setting Sun” seems to be a very popular piece Eden. I was going for dark shadows and deep contrast along with the dense brush strokes.

      Thanks
      Walter

      June 14, 2011 at 4:43 pm

  4. Sounds like a feast for the eyes and a great time. I love the beach but rarely get a chance to go and have never been to Barbabos.

    July 14, 2011 at 11:59 pm

  5. It was a feast for the senses indeed. I miss being there. It is a beautiful island, get there if you can one day.

    July 15, 2011 at 6:25 am

Leave a Reply

