words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

30-Day Song Challenge: Day 10

Day 10 of the 30-Day Song Challenge asks the question what is “a song that makes you fall asleep?

http://youtu.be/swQAwnusJVQ

Brian Eno is considered to be the father of Ambient Music. I first discovered him in 1977 when I heard what I consider to be his best ambient album entitled Discreet Music. Most people are familiar with Music for Airports which is the album that set the standard for the genre. For this post and the challenge, what is a song that makes you fall asleep; I found it difficult to decide between 2 works. Both are slightly over an hour in length: Neroli and Thursday Afternoon. But in the end it is (drum roll!!) Thursday Afternoon. This is a 5 minute version of the song, which in my opinion does not convey the entire essence of the piece. As the song progresses there is an ever increasing simmering of sound in the latter minutes as if on a hot paved road in the desert sun. This is the perfect song for that afternoon nap on a beautiful day.

day 01 – your favorite song – Stars of the Lid’s “Don’t Bother They’re Here”

day 02 – your least favorite song – Led Zeppelin’s “Stairway to Heaven”

day 03 – a song that makes you happy – Ivy’s – Edge of the Ocean

day 04 – a song that makes you sad – Trespassers Williams – Love You More

day 05 – a song that reminds you of someone – Trespassers Williams – Lie in the Sound

day 06 – a song that reminds you of somewhere – Isabelle Aubret – La Fanette

day 07 – a song that reminds you of a certain event – William Baskinski – The Disintegration Loops 1

day 08 – a song that you know all the words to – Philip Glass – Knee Play 1

day 09 – a song that you can dance to – Ror-Shak featuring Julee Cruise – Fate or Faith

day 10 – a song that makes you fall asleep

10 responses

  1. I’ll check that out later as I could use some sleep around her. 🙂

    June 9, 2011 at 11:00 am

  2. stardust

    June 9, 2011 at 11:06 am

  3. stardust by Nat King Cole

    June 9, 2011 at 11:08 am

    • Thanks David for stopping by giving me your input.

      Keep the music close.

      June 10, 2011 at 4:36 am

  4. Sarah McLachlan’s ‘Surfacing’ sends me off into a beautiful deep sleep all the time. Listening to that album was the only way I could doze off at night in 1997, kid you not!

    June 10, 2011 at 1:03 am

    • Hey Diva, I love Sarah McLachlan. My favorite song of her’s is Sweet Surrender. I have a version which is a mix by the Dutch, artist, DJ Tiesto.. I may not fall asleep to her music, but I can throw down a beat when listening to her 🙂

      June 10, 2011 at 4:27 am

  5. Pingback: Music: The Language of The Spirit… | Mirth and Motivation

    • Thanks Liz,

      Music does have a way to interwine with the healing essence of our soul and Spirit. It is amazing, if you think about it, that music seems to accompany the great moments in our lives. It can also transform the mundane moments into even greater moments.

      Glad you are enjoying my selection for the challenge. I hope to surprise you yet still. 🙂

      Peace, Light and beautiful music
      W.

      June 10, 2011 at 4:35 am

  6. Ahhh sleep music. This is a nice choice. We happen to have some Brian Eno lying around here. For Ambient, I really dig Boards of Canada.

    June 11, 2011 at 12:17 am

    • Hey Bunny,
      Glad you enjoyed this track from Brian Eno. If you like Boards of Canada, you should check out these bands…Helios, Lights Out Asia, AES Dana, and Solar Fields. If you want more sleep music the Ambient Music Therapy series is a good place to explore.

      Have a great weekend
      p.s. The art piece I sent you on Facebook, is from my Impressions in Barbados series. I will be posting a series of posts reflecting my trip to Barbados.

      June 11, 2011 at 5:05 am

Leave a Reply

