words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

30-Day Song Challenge: Day 04

Day 4 of the 30-Day Song Challenge asks the question what is “a song that makes you sad”? At the top of this list has to be the Southern California dreampop/shoegaze band Trespassers William and their haunting song of love in sadness entitled “Love You More”. Anna-Lynne Williams’ beautiful angelic voice portrays a depth that stirs the soul. The icy chill of the acoustic and electric guitars and Anna-Lynne’s voice are perfectly matched, and provide the perfect vehicle for sonic bliss of reflection.

http://youtu.be/Xb6d2ZEMT04

day 01 – your favorite song – Stars of the Lid’s “Don’t Bother They’re Here”

day 02 – your least favorite song – Led Zeppelin’s “Stairway to Heaven”

day 03 – a song that makes you happy – Ivy’s – Edge of the Ocean

day 04 – a song that makes you sad –

4 responses

  1. I never heard of Trespassers William, but your 30-day song challenge gives me a good reason to listen. She has a beautiful voice and yes, this is a sad song…but it’s a lovely sad.

    May 31, 2011 at 5:13 pm

  2. I have a song that makes me happy and sad. YOUR SONG by Elton John – it was my wedding song (and a song I love) — as my wedding day was one of my most wonderful glorious days of my life, but now that my mom & dad passed much too soon (and suddenly) hearing Your Song is bittersweet….
    xo

    The “ME” in Madess (MadnessMomandMe.com)

    p.s. thank you for your comments on Elizabeth’s blog (for my feature) I really appreciate it – stay in touch!

    June 1, 2011 at 1:30 am

    • Thanks Peg, for checking out the blog. I am going to subscribe to your blog as well. I find the background imagery on your blog fascinating. And all that cool Italian stuff rocks 🙂

      Walter

      June 1, 2011 at 5:18 am

  3. Hi Bunny,glad you like Trespassers William. Anna-Lynne does have a remarkable voice. The album from which this song is from is called Different Stars and she continues the mood throughout. Actually my Day 5 song is another piece by the band. I think you will enjoy this one as well. Will post it later.

    Hope you are doing well and that you had a great holiday weekend.

    Walter

    June 1, 2011 at 4:57 am

Leave a Reply

