words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

A Day Like No Other to Find New Memories

Morning in Charleston SC

My first visit to Charleston was in 2005 during my two-person
exhibit at the North Charleston City Gallery. It was my first time visiting the
city, and my first major exhibit in the state of South Carolina. The previous
year I had been awarded a week long artist residency at Barnwell State Park via
the South Carolina State Parks’ Artists Fellowship Program. This series created in the year
2010 is a reflection of the timeless and imaginary moments, found in the beauty of
morning, afternoon, and evening.  As in my
previous posts, I am attempting to examine the relationship we have with memory
and place. I loved my visit to Charleston. I found it to be a beautiful, warm city
with great food, ambience and culture.

Afternoon in Charleston SC

A beautiful day in a new place is always an exciting moment of
exploration and renewal, and of recollection in an artist’s mind. Here as the
bright sun of the afternoon beckoned, there were shops, galleries, music halls, and
restaurants to meander lazily through. The South I found, can joyously bring out the
leisurely feeling in one’s step. But the highlight of
Charleston is the bay. Most of the area is filled with historic monuments. The
bay is expansive and walking next to the waves crashing on the sea wall was
exhilarating. It can be a beautiful afternoon of discovery indeed.

Evening in Charleston SC

As the afternoon turned to dusk, evening slowly approached. And in
that serene backdrop of the setting sun, there were floating memories of
friends, family and beautiful times gone by. The memories moved through the
color of evening and I found the night full of waking dreams.

Then and now I trust in the mystery of the day.

Where are the places that you visited for the first time
that has left lasting memories? What do you love about exploring new places? Do
you associate certain moments in your life, or loved ones with those places? If
so, please do share.

7 responses

  1. Very cool 🙂

    May 28, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    • Thanks Eden, I really appreciate you stopping by. I will get over to your blog and see what you have been up to lately.

      Walter

      May 28, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    • Eden, I just stopped by your blog, and took a quick look. Very interesting and beautiful photographs. I subscribed to your blog and is looking forward to spending more time on your site. Feel free to subscribe to my blog as well. It will be nice to support each other as artists and photographers.

      May 28, 2011 at 7:03 pm

  2. What a beautiful post… There are places that are embedded in my memory bank and all are near water. Water is very calming for me, plus it feeds my creative impulses. Hence, my strongest memories involve events near water and they are always vivid and poetic. 🙂

    May 29, 2011 at 5:20 am

    • Hi Elizabeth and thanks.

      Water as always played a major part in my work and in my creative psychic. It is a beautiful elemental force, always moving and creating and supporting life.

      W.

      May 29, 2011 at 9:11 am

  3. beautiful pix. You’ve got a real thing for light which is different than much of what I have seen

    June 4, 2011 at 1:37 am

    • Thanks David,

      I do like “light” and what is represents as a source of knowing and illumination. I often use it in my work. Thanks for stopping by and please subscribe. I would love to continue to communicate and share.

      Walter

      June 5, 2011 at 8:48 am

Leave a Reply

