words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Post Canvas and Paint 02: in the lightness of being blue

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As an artist, I am sometimes feeling a little blue and uncertain about to which idea I need to explore. It is then that I find the process of creating which I use in my ongoing Post Canvas and Paint series liberating. That ambiguity found “in the lightness of being blue” is washed away amid the beauty of finding an intuitive way of moving from one image to another.

In this particular Post Canvas and Paint series, I start with numerous paused video images of works from my past installations and performances. They are photographed or captured digitally and remixed for this series.

The color blue dominates the vision and feeling of the series. It is the starting element that embodies each image. While the color blue sets the mood for this particular Post Canvas and Paint series, what is consistent throughout all of them is the organic and the patterned designs. As I have stated in previous writings (artist summary @ website: newdigitalscapes.com) on the methodology of the series, it is my intent to remain true to the digital process i.e. recognizing and imploring the intricate, microtonal possibilities inherent to the computer. I take this approach by allowing the computer to contribute its infinite source of geometric abstractions, digital glitches, visual drones, disintegrating loops of color and focus, underlying beats and rhythms, and tonal variations.

The most important thing I would like to achieve in this process is establishing a rhythm in my own inner intuition—feeling the next step and incorporating it into the another image. This is the objective of the series i.e. for each image to move effortlessly to the next….

It is adding while becoming, and finally, being no different from the previous as a whole.

14 responses

  1. jody

    love the rhythm and blueness and light… i was feeling blue yesterday and tried to ride the wave…these images evoke that same process…wonderful!

    May 18, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    • Thanks Jody, and no need to feel blue, life is a beautiful blue journey. Any time you need to reach out, I am here my friend.

      May 19, 2011 at 5:34 am

  2. For me, these images evoke tranquility. They offer a very calming effect. Love them.

    May 18, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    • Thanks Diva, I really felt a sense of floating through the pieces as I created them.

      May 19, 2011 at 5:30 am

  3. amber

    Powerful!

    May 19, 2011 at 2:27 am

    • Hi Amber, thank you for that absorbing word…”Powerful!” Your approval of the piece is well appreciated. Looking forward to seeing more of your work as well.

      May 19, 2011 at 5:32 am

  4. These are stunning and I do love the blue shade… Absolutely gorgeous… You might be feeling blue but your muse is painting the town all the wonderful shades so the hue… 🙂

    May 19, 2011 at 9:06 am

    • Thank you Elizabeth, I thought this collection of pieces would be something you would appreciate. I was at a complete lost, when trying to figure out what I would write about. Sometimes when you are feeling blue, you not to sure where it originates from. But the process of art, guiets the mind and sets it free of worry…..until you run out of paint 🙂

      p.s. I started writing my essays for you. It takes some time and thought.

      Peace and Light

      Walter

      May 20, 2011 at 10:53 pm

  5. It’s great that you can visualize your blueness and translate into an image. I love the one: 5.16.2011.1:13.a.m and would like to see it on my wall above my desk. It’s an extraordinary talent to be able to see your feelings in this way. You are a true artist Walter. I really enjoyed this slideshow of your work.
    I have another question…What plug-in or application are you using for the slideshow?
    Thanks!

    May 19, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    • Hi BaxterBunny, Thanks for so enjoying the piece. I feel a close affinity for the images as well. You have my permission to print out the work you like and hang it on your wall. It is nice to know it will be seen by others.

      The slideshow is part of the Modularity Lite theme on WordPress. This particular theme is geared to art and photography and has the slideshow component.

      Walter

      May 20, 2011 at 10:49 pm

      • Thanks Walter. Just so you know, I’m printing it right now.

        May 20, 2011 at 11:25 pm

  6. Walter, this is so wonderful, and incredibly moving… literally. The images seem to shimmer in front of my eyes… I only had a moment to stop by, but what a delightful collection of blue “bubbles”… i hope to catch up more soon. love, Leslee

    May 24, 2011 at 1:38 am

    • Thanks Leslee, even when you stop by to enjoy the blue “bubbles” 🙂 just for a moment, it is well appreciated.

      Stay beautiful my friend, and keep the faith

      Walter

      May 24, 2011 at 4:49 am

  7. Very nice. Calm and peaceful.

    May 28, 2011 at 1:34 am

Leave a Reply

