words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Race Day April 3rd 2011

Mountain biking race day at Tsali Recreational Park

Mountain biking race day at Tsali Recreational Park, North Carolina

It is Race Day

Take what life gives us

Let us meet under the great pavilion

Where the sounds of aspirations

Are heard in the ballet of bikes

It is race day

Clutching our forged carbon loves

Sinewy muscles tense with sweat

We dream the dance

The dance of the mountain

It is race day

There is life in every breath

Let us meet silently at the starting gate

The noise of wind and sky to shatter our thoughts

While colors merge

A kaleidoscope forms

A kinetic fleeing pursuing blur

Rotating wheels and quick descents

Gorges rivers trees and falls

Pick yourself back up

Your pain body calls

And look up into the crying sky

To a transformative end

Finding yourself deep inside

It is race day

Transcending our weekday life

We are here to meet in joyous celebration

The sound of Kopeland

The sound of music

Victory for one

Pleasure for all

While arms and smiles embrace

Here at Tsali North Carolina

Its sure to be

A great race

6 responses

  1. Walter, that’s really beautiful and a really nice image. I do a little biking, I’m wimpy though, the most I’ve done is 30 miles here in NYC. Not too bad for a bunny. I will be posting pictures on my blog this summer of biking around the city.

    April 9, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    • Hi Bunny,thanks for the compliment on the post. But you know, when one lives in NYC there are so many other things to do e.g. see world class opera, dance and theatre at the Brooklyn Academy of Music’s Next Wave Festival. I’ve loved attending events there, ever since I saw Phillip Glass and Robert Wilson’s epic classic opera Einstein on the Beach in 1984. But I also must say that biking through the streets of NYC is an art form in of itself :)Enjoy it.
      Walter

      April 9, 2011 at 5:11 pm

  2. I like the image “ballet of bikes.” nice.

    April 10, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    • Thanks It Ailisaifa, “ballet of bikes” sums of the event.

      April 19, 2011 at 5:14 am

  3. Thank you for the beautiful poetry that accompanied a challenging day of sweating and cycling… How are you doing? How are your spirits?
    Thinking of you,
    Eliz

    April 12, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    • Thank you Elizabeth, I am doing fine, I will be spending the afternoon tomorrow biking on the mountain roads of Haywood county, on the borders of NC and TN. It should be good.

      Oh yes, can you please tell me I how I can get the Versatile Blogger award you gave me 🙂 I wasn’t sure that there was an actual award until I was at someone’s blog and saw that she had received one from you and thanked you for it. Please let me know, I would be proud to post it on my blog 🙂
      Thanks
      Walter

      April 13, 2011 at 2:29 am

Leave a Reply

