words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Last Night a Dream and a Celebrated Life Deeply Loved.

A dream can be like a blooming rose touching all our senses.

Several nights, in the last two weeks, I have dreamt of loved ones whom have passed on. And still their love remains. My daughter and my mother came to me and shared their life energy and love with me. They brought moments that had been forgotten and weaved them with the essence of my own thoughts, perceptions, and desires. Dreams always seem to be about people, places and life’s moments intertwined. There are waves of reality, sometimes in a surrealistic manner, merging us with the floods of memories, emotions and deep aspirations. We at times never want to wake up, as we reach across the void to touch and hold on just a moment longer.

What does a dream mean to you? How does one interpret those dreams? These are questions that we have, on many occasions, asked ourselves. The American Heritage Dictionary defines a dream as; a series of images, ideas etc., occurring in certain stages of sleep.

There is always a deeply hidden, yet revealing message in a dream. The nature of a dream is its ambiguity. When we sleep with a dream, we see and feel the unknown, and when we wake, there is the longing for connectivity, revelation and a glimpse into the meaning of our lives.

This post is an invitation for you to describe what a dream means to you, or share a dream that has given you a sense of a life celebrated and deeply loved.

9 responses

  1. Dreams can be interpreted in a variety of ways by the dreamer. However the dreamer interprets the images and emotions is the reality for that particular person. It really cannot be any other way because the dreamer is the only one experiencing the scene.
    Very lovely post…

    March 30, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    • Thank you Baxter Bunny, for taking the time to read and comment on my post. I am new at blogging and have found a wonderful community with the support of Elizabeth’s Mirth and Motivation blog. I so enjoyed your comments as well as others on her posting of “Taking Risks”.
      And speaking of dreams….dreams are personal, very personal, perhaps that is why they are so fleeting. They are only for the dreamer.
      I am going to check out your blog and subscribe to keep up with your thoughts.
      Thanks again
      Walter

      March 31, 2011 at 4:05 pm

      • You are doing a really nice job at blogging so far! Elizabeth rocks!

        March 31, 2011 at 4:16 pm

  2. Great to see you back Walter! I am glad… Dreams vary for me; some prophetic, some healing and so on. I like lucid dreaming because we get into the heart of a subject that way.
    I hope you write more…
    Bast wishes,
    Elizabeth

    March 31, 2011 at 8:49 am

    • Thanks Elizabeth,

      Dreaming is a beautiful part of our lives. It is expressive and brings creativity to the mind.

      I hope to write more, as the energy builds and inspiration grows. Your beautiful post on taking risks serves as a creative catalyst in so many ways.

      March 31, 2011 at 3:56 pm

  3. I love dreaming, to travel inwards and find a world as strange and beautiful as the world outside of us is pretty incredible.

    Dreams about loved ones who have passed on though, are quite jarring for me. I lost an old friend in a motorbike accident, and seeing him in a dream (though it rarely happens) feels like he is trying to connect with me.

    But I know he isn’t, it is just me missing him. Still, I wake up feeling comforted, because it seems to confirm that he still exists, somewhere in the ether.

    April 10, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    • It is a beautiful thing at times and other times it can be jarring to be visited by someone you care about. I dream often about loved ones in my family. I try not to think about the visitation itself, but rather the emotional connection we always have had. Every moment in a dream with a loved one is very special even if it a mystery.

      April 19, 2011 at 5:19 am

  4. Love this pic, beautiful.

    May 8, 2011 at 12:01 am

    • Thanks Imccraven, I appreciate the comment. The Celebrated Life series is a tribute to my daughter, who recently passed away.

      Thanks again
      Walter

      May 8, 2011 at 9:45 am

Leave a Reply

