words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

At the Steps of Wall Street and the Powers that Be, Our Price for Freedom

Sometimes In the Waking the Reality Is More Pressing than the Dream 2011 remix

Sometimes in the waking the reality is more pressing than the dream.

Last night, I awoke after a troubled sleep. A desperate sense of uneasiness embodied my Spirit. I really wish the soul of the world somehow was different, had been different, since the beginning of time. Perhaps then, millions of people, of all races, throughout creation and evolution would not have had to fight so hard for their freedom. That fight certainly continues today, in the streets and at the steps of institutions throughout the land with a fervent oscillation of desperation, purpose and will.

We want freedom they shout!

Last night I was dreaming that I was in a Wall Street Bank that had been converted to a video store. I was attempting to return three videos and was told I had purchased a video that I knew that I had not, a video whose contents I was at odds with….

It was the stripping of my freedom.

It was a beautiful building. The architecture was designed to rise above all in its majesty and prestige. It once was a symbol of power and hard earned wealth. And now the money terrorists had taken over…literally in the dream and in life….

Scenes of surrealism abound….

In the dream I spent several minutes walking the aisles viewing such great documentary and feature film titles such as Food Inc., Gas land, Citizen Kane, District 9, Sunshine, and Inside Job. While cruising, I simultaneously began noticing a sense of tension in some of the patrons. However, most had come to grip with the situation and seemed to be not at odds with their oppressors, the money terrorists. A group of Tibetan Buddhist Monks (who I must say are at the forefront of courageous freedom fighters) are reciting mantras, handing out pamphlets and inviting everyone to India, Tibet and Nepal. A group called Meet the People Time Forgot is touring America e.g. the Liberty Bell, Statue of Liberty, Independence Hall, and the Philadelphia Zoo. The organization is known for its strict membership requirements i.e. only the downtrodden, the young, the old, the disabled, the unemployed, the underemployed, the disenfranchised and those lost at sea may apply. During short interludes, in life,  when all their possessions were not being taken from them, they were to be found in the rear vaults; amusing themselves and passing time by playing games of pinochle, gin rummy, strip poker and blackjack. The Buddhist Monks, after having given out the pamphlets, gracefully sat down (yoga style) and held a ‘throw-down’ Zen tea party…unreal Tea Partiers were not invited. Everyone seemed entranced, even one of the money terrorists could not resist the enticing smell of freshly baked goods such as biscuits, cookies, cakes, chunks of butter, lard and manure, and jelly-filled pastries from Dunkin Donuts. On the winding staircases that circumvent the bank, teenagers (e.g. two or more black youths (a “Wolf Pack”)), hip grunge girls from Seattle (listening to Nirvana on their IPods) are strolling (oblivious to the stealing of their constitution and American values) while sipping from designer tea cups; their right hands delicately holding small thimble sized cups of licorice, jasmine, ginseng and caffeine free Echinacea tea. The aroma and taste is downright toxic, I shake my head in affirmation; I pause, center myself, and prepare to “take on the man”.

Yeah, he puts up a good fight. They all do, the money terrorists—a lot of power and influence they possess and wield. And he is nonetheless persistent in his disillusionment, dreaming of ways of putting me down, kicking us to the curb. So I have to be as willful in my rebuttal, in my response, in my voice…..

So I protest, and line the halls of institutions and squares all over the world shouting… I am willing to die for my freedom and yours.

Join me….

And never give up the fight.

At the Steps of Wall Street and the Powers that Be, Our Fight for Freedom

 

3 responses

  1. Good lord, that must have been a very vivid dream! All that scenery; all those symbols… You must be exhausted, and we all are in some fashion… All the world news and turmoil is very painful and draining.
    Cheers.
    Eliz

    March 5, 2011 at 7:54 am

  2. Hi Elizabeth, yes the dream was rather vivid and taxing on the Spirit. I immediately got out of bed and began writing. Some of the descriptive bank elements are actually from a short story I wrote, again from the Life and Stolen Innocence series in 1995. I purposely updated some elements e.g. the “unreal Tea Partiers” to make it more relevant to present times. All in all we are definitely living in precarious times that are quite surreal.

    Namaste
    Walter

    P.S. I find the meet a blogger profile very interesting and would love to be considered for it in the future.

    March 5, 2011 at 8:16 am

  3. I like your abandoned doorway signs …

    April 25, 2011 at 6:33 am

Leave a Reply

