words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Faith and Choice that Move Mountains

Faith and Choice that Moves Mountains

When it comes to faith as a guiding light, and planting a seed, it is true that the smallest of gestures can produce a life altering experience. At the heart of these moments in life—there is a decision. It is a decision born almost overwhelmingly, of fear, doubt and hope.  In these overwhelming moments we can be distracted by our emotions, by our circumstances. And find that there is beauty in madness and in faith, and sometimes they exist in us simultaneously.

I can remember looking back at the moments in my life wherein decisions had to be made that would change my life dramatically. Those moments were so intense that only faith or fear could move me—could move the mountains in front of me. In one instance, I remember looking up to the sky, on a cold Wisconsin night, knowing that speaking, declaring,  just a few words would concretely change the course of my life for years to come. 

And I spoke those few words….

And in days my life changed….

Was I acting on faith or fear? Do we really understand the mysteries of our decisions? Are they our own? And what is the value of the question, will I regret this moment this decision? As life goes on, it all becomes the past. Looking back, into that past for answers to the present is ultimately meaningless. Life is only the present moment with many paths leading to it. Yes we can learn from the past, but ultimately, it cannot change this present moment, this opportunity for awareness, nor to move forward in faith.  Each present moment has its own decision, its distinct opportunity to exhibit faith and trust in the mystery of life.

We do “move mountains” with faith, with the words we speak, with our alignment with Source.

And we also “move mountains” with self reliance, accountability and knowledge…

Choice.

That decision that day did change my life for years to come. And at times, I still question did I do the right thing. But as the years have come and gone, I’ve learned to train my mind, to live closer to this present moment and the life, that decision, in part has given me.

6 responses

  1. Beautifully written… You said it so poetically. I read it twice and a flood of memories came back; events that move me forward because I acted on faith…
    Thank you,
    Elizabeth

    March 1, 2011 at 10:08 am

    • Thank you Elizabeth for the thoughtful words. I think the closer you are emotionally and with rememberance to moments in your life one can find the prose, the poetry, of word or image to clearly express the deeper mysteries of that life. I am glad that the post evoked your own flood of memories behind you. And perhaps a smile, and a love for the mystery of it all.
      Walter

      March 1, 2011 at 3:30 pm

  2. Jody

    Beautiful image! kind of a different style than some of the others–I like it! and I am curious…when were you in Wisconsin?

    March 1, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    • Thanks Jody,
      The image is part of my Post Canvas and Paint series from last year. It did have a slight change in form from the others in the series. I remember saying to myself…keep it simple, stop and leave it at that.

      I was in Wisconsin, in 1983. I will tell you about that one day.

      Walter

      March 1, 2011 at 3:34 pm

  3. Wow! That is so amazing to be able to assign a place and time to a life changing moment! So often those moments are lost in the chaos of life…

    March 1, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    • Thank you Rosa,
      You are so correct that the chaos of life, at times, keeps us from remembering events in our lives. And as we grow older “The Memories Behind You” (if you you go to my art website and the gallery, you will find a beautiful series so entitled that addresses in part this subject)… do become more obscured. But sometimes there are defining moments, acts of faith, that never escape the mind.

      March 2, 2011 at 4:21 pm

Leave a Reply

