words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Maybe Tomorrow a Similar Question a Different Answer 01

The Backyard in Meditation 01 detail 2011 remix

Hi Liz,

Thank you for the wonderful comments on the series entitled “Biking to a Place Inside and Out”. In this four part series entitled “Maybe Tomorrow a Similar Question a Different Answer, I will be using the element of repetition (the heart of my work is in repetition) both in prose and image to answer the question… How do I create my art? For this series the piece I will be reconstructing is a detail from the 2004 collage “The Backyard in Meditation”. My goal is not to convey a step-by-step explanation of the process, but to hint at the intuitiveness that is inherent to the process.

First, I have a large collection of photographs and remixed images that I can use. I have been creating digital art since 1985. I always start a piece with photo correction techniques before creating effects. Depending on the image (portrait, landscape, abstract) determines where I want to go in relation to effects (soft, sharp organic, geometric, opaque, transparent etc). I always let the computer contribute its own “ideas” as well. It is important to note that for my posts, I usually utilize a single frame image and not a multi-layered, multi photo, image that I produce for my more conceptual collages. The images for the posts are similar to “sketches” which are quickly created… unless it is a previous image already found in my portfolio. One of the things that I am discovering in this process is the immediacy of the internet and social networking i.e. YouTube, Facebook, blogging etc. I want these various internet mediums themselves to become the vehicle for art, individual and collectively. That is why blogging is exciting. It provides a challenge to produce regularly and also provides tools for creativity and a diverse audience. I recently thought of the idea of creating an avatar of me, as an artist, and a real-time internet gallery space to create work in and interact with visitors who come to the gallery.

Major imaging effect for The Backyard in Meditation 01: Multiple layers, Displacement Map @ 48 % blur, Displacement Properties @ 2D offsets, intensity 24.00, and edge mode: wrap.

 

2 responses

  1. What a lovely surprise! Good thing I did stop in or I would have missed the special greeting! Thank you!
    I love the complexity of your art work. Do add at least one to the blog hop and share with others…
    Elizabeth

    February 22, 2011 at 5:51 am

  2. Create an avatar of yourself… great idea!

    February 22, 2011 at 6:10 am

Leave a Reply

