words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

An Entire Life And I May Not Know Myself

walterwsmith3rd:

I was browsing some of my older posts and came across this one. I have been remixing this image and other ships at sea. The prose expresses my ambiguity.

Originally posted on n e w d i g i t a l s c a p e s:

Sometimes the next chapter is the same as the one before and the one before that….

land ferry sky and water

Leaving behind the shore of dreams, I often wake to a life lost at sea….

A life misunderstood.

I sometimes wonder if I really know myself at all. I try to grasp, as I look back across the sea, the meaning of what has gone before. What remains on the distant shore…

The beauty of my indecisiveness. The machinations of my decisions.

Haunt me.

Like the fear of being stranded on land as my dreams sail away. There they go I say. Another day and it all remains the same…

Not unlike the fleeing faces in the clouds above or the uneasy sinking in the waves below….

View original

2 responses

  1. elmediat

    We enter and exit, playing many parts. We become echoes of our previous selves, reborn – the same , yet different. :)

    January 2, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 925 other followers